Writers and directors confirmed for Doctor Who series 12

Writers and directors confirmed for Doctor Who series 12

The return of the Judoon aside, news on the upcoming Series 12 of Doctor Who, Jodie Whittaker's second in the role, has been rather light. But with a recent teaser image announced and the Doctor Who twitter account teasing an announcement (or maybe a trailer) on the 23rd of this month, we may be starting to get some details about the show's 2020 return, starting with this press announcement.

The BBC have just confirmed the line-up of writers and directors for series 12; returning with showrunner Chris Chibnall, are three writers - Vinay Patel (Demons of The Punjab), Ed Hime (It Takes You Away), and Pete McTighe (Kerblam!). Joining the writing team this time round are Nina Metivier, Maxine Alderton and Charlene James.

Four new directors have also been confirmed for Doctor Who series 12; Nida Manzoor; Emma Sullivan; Jamie Magnus Stone and Lee Haven Jones.

Metivier's writing credits include The A List, Alderton The Worst Witch and Emmerdale, while James worked on last year's A Discovery of Witches. Director Manzoor has worked on Silent Witness and Call The Midwife, Stone Tripped and The Last Dragon Slayer, while Jones has directed episodes of Vera, Shetland and The Bay.

In a press statement from the BBC, Chibnall said:

"We’re thrilled that Doctor Who continues to attract some of the most the most exciting and dynamic talent working in television. Along with our returning faces ,we’re excited to welcome new members to the Doctor Who family. The Doctor Who team is crammed with British television’s brightest writers and directors: we’ve adored working with them, and can’t wait to show you the explosive stuff they’ve created!”

More news on series 12, including an air date, as it arises.

Latest Articles