Primary Image

The Research

Release new album: ‘The Old Terminal’ - 27th October

New single: ‘I Think She’s The One I Love’ - 20th October

& tour dates

The Research announce the release of their new album, The Old Terminal on Monday 27th October through This Is Fake DIY Records (home to Duels, Manda Rin, Popular Workshop). The single, I Think She’s The One I Love, will precede the album on Monday 20th October.

The Research - the dreamy vehicle that effortlessly rolls with the heavy songs of Yorkshire’s famed rocky rider and beguiling bad boy Russell (EL DISASTRO), the irritable glamour rebel Georgia Lashbrook, and, the schematic for every rolling stone you ever thought you knew, Sarah Williams - formed in 2003. The Wakefield trio released their debut album, Breaking Up, through EMI in 2006 to a flurry of great reviews including 4/5 stars in Mojo. Support slots with the likes of Maximo Park, Mystery Jets and The Cribs followed and the band began to record the follow up record.

In 2007 The Research returned to Wakefield to re-record The Old Terminal with their old faithful compatriot, Jamie Lockhart. Due to the limitations of the studio, Jamie and The Research spent the best part of the winter making the recordings sound as hi-fi as possible, whilst retaining each fumble and every humbling accident. These recordings truly re-summoned the old innards, all the guts and heart, of the irreparably deluded, commerce-addled am-pop group.

The band is set to play the following dates over the next couple of months:


12 - Faversham, Leeds

20 - Stereo, Glasgow

21 - Cumberland Arms, Newcastle

22 - Luminaire, London

23 - Forum, Tunbridge Wells

24 - Hamptons, Southampton

25 - Moles, Bath

26 - Bullingdon Arms, Oxford

27 - Louisiana, Bristol

28 - Bar Academy, Birmingham

29 - Sugarmill, Stok

31 - Escobar, Wakefield


01 - Roadhouse, Manchester

02 - Doghouse, Runcorn

03 - Arts Centre, Norwich

04 - Bodega, Nottingham

05 - Portland Arms, Cambridge

06 - Freebutt, Brighton

The Research are, Sarah Williams (drums), Russell ‘THE DISASTER’ Searle (vocals, guitar) and Georgia Lashbrook (bass).

Category News

Latest Articles