The best news to start a new year – Jade Bird has announced her debut album

The happiest New Year news

One of our favourite new artists, Jade Bird, has got 2019 off to an amazing start for us with the news that her debut album is coming on 19th April.

On finishing her debut album, Jade says – This album is my experience, direct and undiluted, of the past two years. Every decision I’ve made has culminated into this magical process, just as every word I’ve written has spun into these songs. It changes in style, like most of my music, and tries to dodge boxes and genres but the consistency is me – a young woman really trying to figure it out.”

The self-titled LP features the following tracks:

  1. Ruins
  2. Lottery
  3. I Get No Joy
  4. Side Effects
  5. My Motto
  6. Does Anybody Know
  7. Uh Huh
  8. Good At It
  9. 17
  10. Love Has All Been Done Before
  11. Going Gone
  12. If I Die

2018 was a breakthrough year for the unbelievably talented singer, songwriter, popstar and frontwoman Jade Bird. A string of incredibly refreshing and totally infectious singles saw Jade become one of the most imposing new talents in both the UK and America – taking up residence on Radio playlists, TV screens and packed out stages across the globe. After writing over 200 songs over the course of the last year or so, she has now finished putting the final dazzling touches on her 12 track debut album which is due to be released in April.

Featuring just a small handful of those previously mentioned stellar singles (including ‘Lottery’, ‘Uh Huh’ and the most recently Radio 1 A-Listed ‘Love Has All Been Done Before’) the 12-track record is a stunningly confident journey that explores finding, losing and most importantly observing love – in all it’s different forms.

From the very first listen, it’s feels impossible to believe that Jade Bird is still only 21. As she effortlessly leaps between hugely challenging themes like divorce, disillusionment, cheating and sorrow, there’s an overriding sense of heartbreak and sad reflection. These feelings are never more apparent than on opening track ‘Ruins’ or the tear-jerking piano ballad ’17 which yearns for a younger and more innocent time. During these more tender moments, Jade’s voice is a clear as crystal and delicately fragile as she warns of what happens when falling in love all goes wrong.

However, these moments of sadness are constantly challenged with heaps of hugely uplifting and joyful songs and as a whole, the record is laced with boundless energy and positivity about love. There’s a hugely inspiring fearlessness in Jade’s voice on tracks like ‘I Get No Joy’, ‘Side Effects’ and the festival-ready ‘Going Gone’ where she invites her listeners to get up and dance in the face of heartbreak and pain. In the end, it’s the truly anthemic ‘My Motto’ that has the final say – a song about the realisation that sometimes, to save yourself, you have to give up the painful cycle of trying to fix a relationship and move on.

Colin Polonowski

Updated: Jan 07, 2019

Get involved
Continue the conversation over on The Digital Fix Forum
The best news to start a new year – Jade Bird has announced her debut album | The Digital Fix