Primary Image

Rhino let loose on Woodstock

Rhino presents...
Taking Woodstock
Album Released on November 9th

New Ang Lee (Brokeback Mountain) comedy ‘Taking Woodstock’, released on November 13th, vividly captures the unique spirit of the legendary Woodstock music festival and now the film’s much-talked about soundtrack looks set to take music fans of all ages back to the summer of 69.

It’s 1969, and Elliot Tiber, a down-on-his-luck interior designer in Greenwich Village, NY, has to move back upstate to help his parents run their dilapidated Catskills motel, the El Monaco. The bank is about to foreclose; his father wants to burn the place down, but hasn’t paid the insurance; and Elliot is still figuring how to come out to his parents. When Elliot hears that a neighbouring town has pulled the permit on a hippie music festival, he calls the producers, thinking he could drum up some much needed business for the motel. Three weeks later, half a million people are on their way to his neighbour’s farm in White Lake, NY, and Elliot finds himself swept up in a generation-defining experience that would change his life, and American culture, forever.

Whether you can remember tracks by such seminal Sixties acts as The Grateful Dead, Crosby, Stills and Nash and Jefferson Airplane like it was yesterday or you are discovering their music for the first time, the Taking Woodstock soundtrack provides a sonic time capsule that powerfully evokes the spirit of a time that has passed into musical folklore. It is also a release that marks the 40th anniversary of the iconic event.

Richie Havens who opened the event 40 years ago has recorded a new version of Freedom specially for the film and other highlights include the anti-war anthem by County Joe McDonald I-Feel-Like I’m-Fixin’-To-Die Rag, and live performances from other Woodstock performers including Arlo Guthrie (Coming Into Los Angeles), The Band (I Shall Be Released) and Melanie (Beautiful People).

So get ready to turn on, tune in and drop out to what is set to be the Soundtrack sensation of the summer – and don’t worry if you can’t remember the 60’s. The Taking Woodstock soundtrack will fill in all the musical gaps!

‘Taking Woodstock’ Soundtrack listing
1. "Freedom (2009)" – Richie Havens
2. ”Opening” *
3. "Wooden Ships" – Crosby, Stills & Nash
4. "China Cat Sunflower" (Live) – Grateful Dead
5. "Maggie M'Gill" – The Doors
6. Elliot's Place*
7. "Coming Into Los Angeles" (Live) – Arlo Guthrie
8. "I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag” (Live) – Country Joe McDonald
9. "Going Up The Country" (Live) – Canned Heat
10. "Try (Just A Little Bit Harder)" (Live) – Janis Joplin
11. A Happening (Office #2)*
12. "The Red Telephone" - Love
13. "Beautiful People" (Live) – Melanie
14. "I Shall Be Released" (Live) – The Band
15. "Perspective” *
16. "One More Mile" – The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
17. "Volunteers" – Jefferson Airplane

* Score written and produced by Danny Elfman

We need your help

Running a website like The Digital Fix - especially one with over 20 years of content and an active community - costs lots of money and we need your help. As advertising income for independent sites continues to contract we are looking at other ways of supporting the site hosting and paying for content.

You can help us by using the links on The Digital Fix to buy your films, games and music and we ask that you try to avoid blocking our ads if you can. You can also help directly for just a few pennies per day via our Patreon - and you can even pay to have ads removed from the site entirely.

Click here to find out more about our Patreon and how you can help us.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News

Latest Articles