Primary Image

Reuben ponder career opportunities

Press release:

On 24th August 2009 Reuben will release ‘We Should Have Gone To University’ on Xtra Mile Recordings - a double CD and DVD package featuring all their b-sides and a host of previously unreleased material. It has been lovingly assembled by the band together with Xtra Mile to create an epically comprehensive and nostalgic collection; a big thank you from the band to the fans.

Reuben decided to call it a day in June of last year, declaring an indefinite hiatus after years of battling the many pitfalls of the music industry whilst juggling ‘proper’ jobs that, in the end, simply wore them out. In their time together the cult three-piece from Aldershot, who had been together since 2001, released three studio albums – ‘Racecar Is Racecar Backwards’, ‘Very Fast Very Dangerous’ and ‘In Nothing We Trust’ - one DVD titled ‘What Happens In Aldershot, Stays In Aldershot’, two EPs and a host of singles (including a Christmas song), all to critical acclaim. They toured extensively, earning themselves not only recognition but a number of Radio One and MTV2 top spots as well as a Kerrang! award nomination for Best British Newcomer.

Their creative output in their time together amassed a wealth of music and film footage. From the first forays of their debut ‘Pilot’ EP in 2001 to the demos and out-takes from recording their third and final album in 2007; ‘We Should Have Gone To University’ is 47 tracks long, encompassing past releases, album demos, b-sides, live session tracks and previously unreleased gems. A must for any mourning Reuben fan and of course, any newcomers.

The DVD contains every promo video for their 15 singles and excellent live footage of their career-defining Main Stage set at Download Festival 2007.

Full tracklisting of both CDs and DVD is as follows:

01 Alpha Signal Seven
02 Words From Reuben
03 Crimson
04 Death Of A Star
05 Shambles
06 Scared Of The Police
07 Eating Only Apples (Single Version)
08 Wooden Boy
09 Stux (Tell Me It's Alright)
10 Stealing Is Easy
11 Banner Held High
12 Lissom Slo
13 Let's Stop Hanging Out (Single version)
14 Alpha Signal Five
15 Numb At Four In The Morning
16 Worn To Be Seen
17 Catch
18 Stuck In My Throat (Single Version)
19 Doll Fin
20 Scared Of The Police (Live On XFM)
21 Once
22 Glitterskin
23 Ways Of Staying Pure
24 Miffy In Auschwitz (Live At The BBC)
25 Enemy

CD 2:
01 Scared Of The Police (Sheldon Version)
02 Don't Die
03 Seated Near
04 No Exit Wound
05 Victim
06 Approaching By Stealth
07 Karin
08 Feel Good Inc. (Live At The BBC)
09 Two Kicks In The Mouth (Live At XFM)
10 Blitzkrieg
11 Girls On Top
12 What's Good For Me
13 Push
14 The Weight Of The World
15 Christmas Is Awesome
16 Suffocation Of The Soul (Live At The BBC)
17 Agony/Agatha (Live At The BBC)
18 The Hand That Feeds (Live At The BBC)
19 Deadly Lethal Ninja Assassin (Acoustic Version)
20 Red Machine
21 Shambles (Long Version)
22 The Last Time

1. Wooden Boy
2. Scared Of The Police
3. Stux
4. Let’s Stop Hanging Out
5. Stuck In My Throat
6. Freddy Kreuger
7. Moving To Blackwater
8. Blamethrower
9. A Kick In The Mouth
10. Keep It To Yourself
11. Blood Bunny Lark Hall
12. Deadly Lethal Ninja Assassin
13. Christmas Is Awesome
14. Cities On Fire
15. Blitzkrieg
16. Blamethrower
17. Blood Bunny Larkhall
18. Everytime A Teenager Listens To Drum And Bass A Rock Star Dies
19. Keep It To Yourself
20. Cities On Fire
21. Lights Out
22. Stuck In My Throat
In The Studio
23. Lissom Slo
24. Worn To Be Seen

‘We Should Have Gone To University’ is accompanied by the release of the single ‘Blitzkrieg’ – an anthemic rock/pop sing-a-long that was written and recorded but never before released. The video is a nostalgic look back with footage of the band playing live and messing about backstage unearthed from compiling the DVD for the box set.

Category News

Latest Articles