Primary Image

Record Store Day 2013

Excitement is mounting for this year's Record Store Day. Battle-hardened Ebay scalpers are digging out their thermal vests and flasks in advance of that 4.00am start; music bloggers are furiously sketching advance reports from the frontline, bemoaning the fact that - inevitably - the person in front of them in the queue will get the last copy of the Flaming Lips 10" with free inflatable Wayne Coyne. It's like Christmas - it comes around once a year. Some people like it, others hate it. And we, well, we just report the facts ma'am.

Here are some things you can buy if you still have a local record shop.

Itch has announced he will be releasing a limited edition vinyl release for RSD, containing an exclusive lyric booklet which comprises of the two EPs ‘Manifesto Pt.1: How To Fucking Rule At Life.’ and ‘Manifesto Pt. 2: We're All In The Gutter’, both released earlier this year on limited edition, hand painted numbered flash drives

Alcopop! Records are proud to announce a hugely exciting cassette release from London’s Stagecoach, out on April 20th for Record Store Day. The track, taken from their forthcoming album Say Hi To The Band, is pressed on genuine vintage USA late 70’s reel-to-reel style 'Eagle' tape stock and comes with an instant download. ‘Action’ is backed with brand new b-side track ‘For Miguel’ – which will be strictly limited to a physical release before but being available all good digital stores on April 29th.

Nothing But Noise, the trio led by Front 242 mastermind Daniel B, are spearheading a new series called ‘Music For Muted TV’. The series is being curated by Daniel B and released through Future Noise Music. The first release is white 10” vinyl limited to 300 copies, which features two new compositions by Nothing But Noise, both running 11 minutes and 52 seconds and exclusive to Record Store Day.

Burns is releasing a very special, limited edition double a-side 12” featuring two brand new tracks for RSD. The 12" features 'Poison', with London-based 3-piece Dems, and 'No One Else', a collaboration with Cardiff producer/singer/remixer Until The Ribbon Breaks.

Paul Weller releases two new tracks entitled 'Flame-Out!' and 'The Olde Original' recorded exclusively for this year’s Record Store Day on Saturday 20th April. A digital release on the following day will be available for one month only.

Domino Records have announced the following releases for Record Store Day:

Austra & Gina X – ‘Mayan Drums’ 12”
Orange Juice - You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever LP
Orange Juice – Rip It Up LP
Orange Juice – Texas Fever LP
Orange Juice – The Orange Juice LP
Can’s Ege Bamyasi played by Stephen Malkmus & Friends LP
King Creosote – That Might Well Be It, Darling CD

Sex Pistols have announced that the band will release a very special version of 'Pretty Vacant' as a limited edition 7” record on April 20th for Record Store Day. The a-side is a previously unreleased version of 'Pretty Vacant' recorded live at the Hammersmith Apollo on 2nd September 2008. The flip-side is a 1977 mono mix of Pretty Vacant which was only previously available on an American promo of the single. The 3,500 limited edition, numbered 7”s come in a faithfully replicated version of the original American promo.

Demon Records have announced a number of special releases for Record Store Day. Highlights include:

The Jesus and Mary Chain - Psychocandy - Colour Splatter LP (1000 copies)
Men Without Hats - Safety Dance - 30th Anniversary 7” Picture Disc (500 copies)
Chas & Dave - Rabbit’ - Rabbit Shaped 7” Vinyl (750 copies)

While She Sleeps have been back in the studio to record some revised versions of songs from their album This Is The Six, but also to record a new song, 'Death Toll' which will ONLY BE available on Record Store Day when it will be released as a limited edition 7” - and as part of the repackaged digital album.

Dog Is Dead have announced that they’ll be releasing a limited edition, numbered, double A-side 7” for Record Store Day on April 20th. The record will feature their tracks ‘Teenage Daughter’ and ‘Do The Right Thing’. Lead singer Rob Milton commented, “It would be a shame for these two singles to only be available as faceless downloads with no art or collectability, so we're really excited to give people the chance to get a very limited physical copy of two of our favourite songs off our debut album for Record Store Day."

Suede present a limited double A-side 7" single through Demon Records which sees 'Barriers' from 2013's Bloodsports album alongside 'Animal Nitrate' which celebrates its 20th anniversary this year. This is limited to 1500 copies.

Signalling the first release proper since 2010's 'More', Booka Shade return with the 'Blackout: White Noise' EP. Available digitally now, a 12" version will be released on Record Store Day.

Bella Union records have announced that The Walkmen will be making available their debut album Everyone Who Pretended To Like Me Is Gone for the first time in the UK/Europe. This much sought after rarity will be available on coloured vinyl and will also include a CD.

Following the release of Who's That Man, the four-disc tribute box set to Conny Plank, Grönland are pleased to announce an exclusive 12" for Record Store Day. The four-track 12" will be followed by the vinyl release of i>Who's That Man, out on May 3rd.

A1 Take Me To Your Heart – Eurythmics (Popnoname Remix)
A2 Infiltration – Moebius & Plank (Walls remix)
B1 Für Immer – NEU! (Eye remix)
B2 Le Sinistre – Eurythmics (Kreidler remix)

Earache Records will be marking this year's Record Store Day with a number of special limited edition releases. Among the rarities being unveiled on April 20th will be The World's Shortest Album - available on vinyl for the first time and clocking in at just 83 seconds. Crammed into less than two minutes is an assortment of grindcore acts from the past two decades: Napalm Death, Wormrot, A.C., Insect Warfare, Brutal Truth and more. The album will be on a 5" vinyl, presented in a 12" sleeve.

Side A:
01. Napalm Death - You Suffer (1.9s)
02. Napalm Death - Dead (2.7s)
03. Napalm Death - Your Achievement (4.2s)
04. Wormrot - False Grind Sodomy (2.5s)
05. Wormrot - You Suffer But Why Is It My Problem (4.0s)
06. Brutal Truth - Collateral Damage (4.0s)
07. A.C. - Howard Wulkan's Bald (4.0s)

Side B:
01. Lawnmower Deth - Be Scene Not Heard (4.7s)
02. Painkiller - Trailmarker (6.0s)
03. Brutal Truth - Blockhead (7.3s)
04. Morbid Angel - Bil Ur-Sag #2 Lava (6.9s)
05. A.C. - Windchimes Are Gay (9.5s)
06. Insect Warfare - Street Sweeper (13.5s)

Total running time including gaps between tracks: 82.8 seconds


We need your help

Running a website like The Digital Fix - especially one with over 20 years of content and an active community - costs lots of money and we need your help. As advertising income for independent sites continues to contract we are looking at other ways of supporting the site hosting and paying for content.

You can help us by using the links on The Digital Fix to buy your films, games and music and we ask that you try to avoid blocking our ads if you can. You can also help directly for just a few pennies per day via our Patreon - and you can even pay to have ads removed from the site entirely.

Click here to find out more about our Patreon and how you can help us.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Latest Articles