Primary Image

Rakes drop a KLANGer


The Rakes are set to unveil their new album Klang!, at an intimate London
show at The Lexington, Islington on Friday 27 February 2008. The night will, be hosted by Rockfeedback and feature special guests, plus a White Light Club night until 4am. Tickets are priced at £10 and available from

KLANG is the follow-up to the highly acclaimed albums Capture/Release (2005) and Ten New Messages (2007). The album will be released on Monday 23 March through V2 and be preceded by the single ‘1989’ on the 16 March 2009. The single will be a digital release only.

The album was recorded at Planet Roc Studios in Berlin and produced by Chris Zane (Les Savy Fav, The Walkmen, Passion Pit). The Rakes decided they wanted to record in a fresh and exciting new environment, so they relocated to an industrial area in the old Communist part of Berlin. " We just wanted to be somewhere more inspiring," said Rakes singer Alan Donohoe. "Someone suggested Berlin. It didn't take long for everyone to agree, we packed our bags and moved here just like that. We love it.” They lived and recorded in the grounds of a Bauhaus-designed, Soviet radio station that had been converted into a studio. Alan Donohoe adds: "The album is raw, playful, exciting, complex and schizophrenic - much like the personality of Berlin itself. It couldn't be more of a fitting place to record it.”

The band will tour the UK in April. The dates are as follows.
21 - Concorde 2, Brighton
22 - Wedgewood Rooms, Portsmouth
23 - Club Academy, Manchester
24 - The Button Factory, Dublin
25 - Oran Mor, Glasgow
26 - The Cluny, Newcastle
28 - Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
29 - Koko, London

Category News

Latest Articles