Okkervil River Announce A New Album And Share The First Single

Okkervil River have this week announced the details of a new album, their first since 2016's Away.

Entitled, In The Rainbow Rain, the album marks a move away from the sombre strings of their previous work and a reach to something more playful. Full of electric guitars and synth, frontman Will Sheff said: “I wanted to make a record where a sense of kindness felt encoded into the music.”

Accompanying this announcement is the release of the first track to be taken from the album, "Don't Move Back To LA." Describing the song as having a really straightforward motive, Sheff said: "A bunch of my best friends all moved to LA and I was really sad about it so I wrote a song about how I didn't want them to leave."

The band will be returning to the UK for a one-off headline show at London's KOKO on 10th October. Their album can be pre-ordered from their website now, full tracklisting is below.


1) Famous Tracheotomies

2) The Dream And The Light

3) Love Somebody

4) Family Song

5) Pulled Up The Ribbon

6) Don’t Move Back To LA

7) Shelter Song

8) How It Is

9) External Actor

10) Human Being Song

Latest Articles