Primary Image

Oh Boy! it's Girls!

Girls[ will release their brilliant new single ‘Laura’ on 9th November. Taken from the band’s hotly-anticipated debut album (‘Album’, out 28th September), ‘Laura’ is another piece of gloriously melodic, evocative West Coast pop from the San Francisco duo. Available on heavyweight 7” vinyl and download and featuring brand new b-side ‘Oh Boy’, it’s the third single from Girls, following the release of their previous two sold out singles ‘Hellhole Ratrace’ and ‘Lust For Life’.

The band have released a live clip of Laura this week, filmed earlier this year in Different Fur studios:

Girls formed at the start of 2008, centered around the pure and powerful songwriting of Christopher Owens and the ethereal, DIY production of Chet JR White. Taking the California template perfected by Brian Wilson and adding a scuzzy makeover, Girls perfectly captures the sun-baked outlook of life in their adopted San Francisco hometown, just as the Velvets crackled with New York electricity and The Smiths’ songs came soaked in Manchester drizzle. You’ll detect 50s surf-pop, 60s psychedelia, 80s hardcore and blissed-out shoegaze at play, not to mention more modern west coast sounds. But most of all you’ll hear the musical distillation of the frazzled San Fran lifestyle.

Meanwhile, following an amazing sold out show at London’s Lexington this week, Girls will be touring the UK throughout October. The eleven date headline tour will again see Girls' core duo of Christopher Owens and Chet JR White bolstered to a live four piece by guitarist John Anderson and drummer Garret Godard.

09 - Nottingham, Bodega Social Club
10 - Liverpool, Korova
11 - Manchester, Night & Day
13 - Glasgow, Captain's Rest
14 - Edinburgh, Sneaky Pete's
15 - Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
16 - Bristol, The Cooler
17 - Birmingham, Academy 3
19 - Brighton, The Albert
20 - London, Hoxton Bar & Kitchen
21 - Tunbridge Wells, Forum
23 - Cardiff, SWN Festival

Category News

Latest Articles