Primary Image

Music news round up: w/e 7 April

Tangerine Dream have announced a return to British shores for a unique one-off UK show as part of their Electric Mandarine Tour 2012 at the O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire in London on Sunday 24th June. Edgar Froese says about the London show: "Playing London is like being back home. Our fans make it possible for us to realise every musician’s dream: making a living out of what you love and do best, playing and composing music. As a thank you we would like to share Tangerine Dream's 45th anniversary with our loyal British fan base. It will be a great show with lots of songs and sounds that our fans grew up with."

Tickets are £45.00 (subject to booking fee), online bookings from and credit card bookings from 0844 811 0051.


Liars have announced further details of their new album, titled WIXIW (pronounced “wish you”), and released on Mute on June 4th. The 11-track album will be preceded by a single (out 28th May), 'No.1 Against The Rush', and full track listing is as follows:

The Exact Colour Of Doubt
No.1 Against The Rush
A Ring On Every Finger
Ill Valley Prodigies
His And Mine Sensations
Flood To Flood
Who Is The Hunter
Annual Moon Words

Live dates:
2 June – Field Day, London
7 June – Nouveau Casino, Paris
8 June – Tivoli De Helling, Utrecht
9 June – AB Club, Brussels
10 June – Roter Salon der Volksbühne, Berlin
12 June – XOYO, London
15 June – Ruby Lounge, Manchester


Ben Howard releases his new single 'Only Love' on May 14th through Island Records, taken from his hit album Every Kingdom which has sold over 100,000 copies in the UK alone.

Live dates:
16th June - Goldcoast Oceanfest, Devon
23rd/24th June – Radio 1 Hackney Weekend, London
7th July – T In The Park, Kinross
15th July – Latitude Festival, Southwold
18th August – V Festival, Chelmsford
19th August – V Festival, Stafford
6th September – Bestival, Isle of Wight
2nd November - Brighton, The Dome
3rd November - Plymouth, Pavilions
4th November - Cardiff, University SOLD OUT
5th November - Bristol, Colston Hall SOLD OUT
7th November - Dublin, Olympia
9th November - Belfast, Mandela Hall
10th November - Glasgow, O2 Academy
12th November - Manchester, O2 Apollo
14th November - Leeds, O2 Academy
16th November - Newcastle, O2 Academy
17th November - Aberdeen, Music Hall
19th November - Cambridge, Corn Exchange
20th November – Lincoln, Engine Shed
21st November - Leicester, O2 Academy
22nd November - Nottingham, Rock City
24th November - Birmingham, O2 Academy
25th November - Bournemouth, O2 Academy SOLD OUT
26th November - Southampton, Guild Hall
28th November - London, O2 Brixton Academy
29th November – London, O2 Brixton Academy


17-year-old Nina Nesbitt has announced that her new EP The Apple Tree will be released on May 7th, which coincides with her support slot on Example's arena tour. Check out the title track below.


Surrey six-piece Wildeflower's double A-side debut single 'Good Girl / Amazing Discovery' will be out on May 14th through Stella Mortos, limited to 250 copies on 7" vinyl. Have a listen to 'Good Girl' below.


Rita Ora has unveiled the video for her debut solo UK single 'R.I.P.', out on May 6th. Check it out below.


Gemma Ray has unveiled the video for her brand new track 'Rescue Me' which features on her forthcoming album Island Fire. The new album is set for release on April 16th via Bronze Rat Records.

Following a recent trip to Austin for SXSW, Gemma will play a handful of UK live shows throughout April and May.

Live dates:
April 28th - London, Shepherds Bush Empire (with Ane Brun)
May 3rd - Glasgow, Captain’s Rest
May 4th - Belfast, Black Box Theatre (with Kitty, Daisy and Lewis)
May 30th - London, Paper Dress Vintage (FREE SHOW, stage time 9pm)


In addition to their previously announced date at this year’s Fused Festival in May, much acclaimed prog metal newcomers Leprous have unveiled a new headline tour for October, including a date at the infamous Underworld in Camden on the 22nd. They will be joined on this special tour, much suitably dubbed "European Progressive Assault", by Sweden's Loch Vostok, Norway's Ørkenkjøtt and another yet-to-be-announced support act.


Candlelight Records have confirmed June 18th as the release date for Eremita, the anticipated fourth album from Norwegian-born vocalist/guitarist Ihsahn. Alongside Ihsahn, the album features performances from drummer Tobias Ornes Andersen (Leprous), saxophonist Jorgen Munkeby (Shining), guitarist Jeff Loomis (ex-Nevermore), and vocalists Devin Townsend, Einar Solberg (Leprous), and Heidi S. Tveitan (StarofAsh). Eremita will be available on standard cd and a limited edition deluxe digibook (featuring an exclusive bonus track), with the track listing as follows:

1. Arrival
2. The Paranoid
3. Introspection
4. The Eagle And The Snake
5. Catharsis
6. Something Out There
7. Grief
8. The Grave
9. Departure
10. Recollection (deluxe edition only)


Emmy The Great is returning with new single 'God Of Loneliness' on May 7th. Originally destined for last year's Virtue album, it was held back and is now being given the full single treatment, backed by a cover of the Mazzy Star classic 'Fade Into You'. The single is accompanied by a short film starring Isy Suttie (Peep Show) and Shazad Latif (Spooks). Described by Emmy as 'horror rom-com', it was directed by Chris Boyle, and set in her favourite Brutalist tower block, west London’s Trellick Tower. The video, remixes by Dan Le Sac, Dems, Banjo or Freakout, and CSS, will all be unveiled shortly, as well as a series of 'God Of Loneliness' comics featuring all the above remixers as special guest-stars.


With their debut album Voltopia out on May 28th, Helium Robots have released a new three-track EP which you can download for free from their official site -


'The Night' will be the next single released from School Of Seven Bells' latest album Ghostory. Originally available as a free download to announce Ghostory, the track will be released digitally on May 21st backed by a Siouxsie Sioux cover, Kiss Them For Me', and a Scissor Sisters remix of previous single 'Lafaye'.

To mark the release of 'The Night', the band have partnered with, a platform that gives filmmakers the opportunity to make the official music videos for featured artists and songs. Entries are now open for the competition and close on May 8th.


Deuce has unveiled the video to new single 'America', out on April 15th. Check out the NSFW video, directed by Nathan Cox, below.

We need your help

Running a website like The Digital Fix - especially one with over 20 years of content and an active community - costs lots of money and we need your help. As advertising income for independent sites continues to contract we are looking at other ways of supporting the site hosting and paying for content.

You can help us by using the links on The Digital Fix to buy your films, games and music and we ask that you try to avoid blocking our ads if you can. You can also help directly for just a few pennies per day via our Patreon - and you can even pay to have ads removed from the site entirely.

Click here to find out more about our Patreon and how you can help us.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Latest Articles