Primary Image

Music news round-up: Monday 3 December

Mary Anne Hobbs joins BBC Radio 6 Music as the presenter of the all new Weekend Breakfast Show on Saturdays and Sundays 7:00-10:00am from 5th January 2013. Mary Anne was part of BBC Radio 1 for 14 years before a more recent stint at Xfm, where she was nominated for Best Specialist Show at the Sony and Arqiva Awards 2012.

Manchester’s Sonic Boom Six have announced a run of UK headline shows for next February 2013, with support from The LaFontaines and Under The Influence, which follows their main support slot through January with The Blackout.

Friday 8-Feb-13 – Swindon, The Furnace
Saturday 9-Feb-13 – Guildford, The Boileroom
Sunday 10-Feb-13 – Brighton, Audio
Monday 11-Feb-13 – Sheerness, The Ivy
Tuesday 12-Feb-13 – Southend, Chinnery's
Wednesday 13-Feb-13 - Milton Keynes, The Craufurd Arms
Friday 15-Feb-13 – Rugby, Vault
Saturday 16-Feb-13 – Sheffield, Corporation
Sunday 17-Feb-13 – Preston, 53 Degrees
Tuesday 19-Feb-13 – Carlisle, The Brickyard
Wednesday 20-Feb-13 – Aberdeen, Tunnels
Friday 22-Feb-13 – Belfast, Stiff Kitten
Saturday 23-Feb-13 – ROI, Dublin, Fibber Magees
Monday 25-Feb-13 – York, The Duchess
Tuesday 26-Feb-13 – Scunthorpe, The Baths Hall
Wednesday 27-Feb-13 - Stoke-on-Trent, The Sugarmill

The band will also follow up the release of the self titled album last month with a brand new single, ‘Keep On Believing’, which will be released as a download only single on January 14th, through Xtra Mile Recordings.

Melody’s Echo Chamber will be returning to the UK for a small run of shows in March 2013.

Sunday, March 3 - Brighton Green Door
Monday, March 4 - Manchester Deaf Institute
Tuesday, March 5 - London Scala

Tom Odell will play the following dates in March 2013:

Friday 1 The Rainbow, Birmingham
Saturday 2 Leeds Cockpit
Sunday 3 King Tuts, Glasgow
Tuesday 5 Night & Day, Manchester
Wednesday 6 Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
Friday 8 Thekla, Bristol
Sunday 10 Komedia Studio Room, Brighton
Monday 11 Joiners, Southampton
Tuesday 12 Dingwalls, London

Cult metal favourites High On Fire will be touring the UK in February 2013. The trio comprising Matt Pike, Des Kensel and Jeff Matz will hit the following cities and venues:

01.02.2013 - 02 Academy 2 - Birmingham
02.02.2013 - The Sugarmill - Stoke On Trent
03.02.2013 - NQ Live - Manchester
04.02.2013 - King Tuts - Glasgow
06.02.2013 - Thekla - Bristol
07.02.2013 - Wedgewood Rooms - Portsmouth
08.02.2013 - 02 Islington Academy - London
09.02.2013 - Rescue Rooms - Nottingham
10.02.2013 - Waterfront - Norwich

We need your help

Running a website like The Digital Fix - especially one with over 20 years of content and an active community - costs lots of money and we need your help. As advertising income for independent sites continues to contract we are looking at other ways of supporting the site hosting and paying for content.

You can help us by using the links on The Digital Fix to buy your films, games and music and we ask that you try to avoid blocking our ads if you can. You can also help directly for just a few pennies per day via our Patreon - and you can even pay to have ads removed from the site entirely.

Click here to find out more about our Patreon and how you can help us.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Latest Articles