Primary Image

Mouthwash album and tour

Press release:

‘Mouthwash are the single most exciting band in London right now. Great records, great live, great band!’ – Itch Fox, The King Blues

A symbol of London’s mash up of fashion and musical styles, Mouthwash announce the release on 8th June of their album ‘True Stories’ with a bonus CD featuring live and unreleased tracks, on Rebel Alliance Recordings. Their songs are defined by an honest delve into the under belly of London life, with references to rejecting day jobs, bundling on to night buses to getting guns pulled on them in Brixton. All their music is engrained with a gritty realism that tenderly touches on the romantic before heading back to the street corners, signing on and the offy.

Crossing ska and ragga rhythms and melodies with a UK Indie/punk sound, Mouthwash have a loyal following in the punk scene since the day they started in 1995. The band had played with many of world’s prominent punk/hardcore acts when they were still in their punk-addled teens, and it was a support slot with Rancid at the Astoria that impressed singer Tim Armstrong. He immediately asked the band to join his label ‘Hellcat Records’ on which they released the debut album ‘1000 Dreams’ to much critical acclaim.

The band themselves are quick to point out that they don’t have a particular message to spread, they just want to make good music, get smashed and enjoy themselves along the way. With tour stories such as hitchhiking across America and being stuck in a van for days with a mental patient, it seems like they are definitely trying!

These hard working boys are back and better than ever with their new album. To promote this new release the band are headlining a series of UK shows after and have just a UK tour with good friends The King Blues.

You can catch their powerful live shows at the following places:

22nd May Jester Bar @ Cross Kings, Kings Cross, London
23rd May Mclusky’s, Kingston on@ 5pm w/ANTI-FLAG+THE KING BLUES
24th May The Gander, Bournemouth
25th May Harrys Bar, Stoke
28th May Wagon and Horses, Digbeth, Birmingham
29th May The Square, Harlow, Essex w/THE KING BLUES
30th May Thatched House, Stockport
31st May Rainham Mark Social Club, Gillingham
26th July The Retro Bar, Manchester
8th Aug Maze, Nottingham w/VOODOO GLOW SKULLS
9th Aug Secret location (just outside Bristol), Boom Town Fair w/CHAS N DAVE, SONIC BOOM SIX

The Tracklisting for ‘True Stories’ is:
1. Ask and it is given
2. A face in the crowd
3. No fear
4. N68
5. The sound
6. That Girl
7. Everyday feelin’
8. What I don’t know
9. Southbound
10. Atlantic Rd.
11. Dark was the night
12. Hazy days

Bonus Disc:
1. N68 (acoustic live)
2. Solid as a rock (live)
3. Sign of the times (unreleased)
4. I don't wanna hear it (live acoustic)
5. We evolve (live acoustic)
6. Knock on your door (demo)
7. Ask and it is given (live acoustic)
8. Fools Gold (live)
9. One in ten (demo)
10. Deeper (unreleased)

Category News

Latest Articles