Mark Lanegan & Duke Garwood Share New Track

Mark Lanegan & Duke Garwood have this week unveiled the title track to their forthcoming album With Animals as their latest single.

Set for full release on 24th August, the albums name is a very literal one coming from the fact that they were with animals while recording. Mark Lanegan says: “The record was recorded in my house by Duke alone and my five Animals to keep him company. If someone were to listen closely with headphones they might hear a bark, meow, growl or whine embedded in the music. Hence the title of the song and album.”

Lanegan and Garwood have been working together over the last decade on projects that include 2012's Blues Funeral and 2017's Gargoyle. 

Analogue and dust-flecked, the record was made in the intense heat of American summer. Duke Garwood describes their recording process: “It was a heatwave in LA. 109 in the shade. The riff was early morning, slow cooked in the heat haze, until the awesome moment when Mark laid down the vocals. A delish dish.”

Watch the video, directed by Steve Gullick below.

With Animals track listing:

1. Save Me

2. Feast to Famine

3. My Shadow Life

4. Upon Doing Something Wrong

5. L.A Blue

6. Scarlett

7. Lonesome Infidel

8. With Animals

9. Ghost Stories

10. Spaceman

11. One Way Glass

12. Desert Song

Latest Articles