Primary Image

John Cougar Mellencamp classics re-issued

Cherry Red re-issue two early John Cougar Mellencamp albums on 19 October.

Press release:

Released MCA in 1976, and recorded in 1975 when he was 24 years old, Chestnut Street Incident was the first long player from the legendary John Cougar Mellencamp. Then operating under the moniker Johnny Cougar, Mellencamp had been encouraged to record a number of cover versions to bolster the half a dozen originals included on the set by producer and Svengali Tony Defries, after he was famously awarded a recording contract with only a handful of songs to his name.

The album is considered as invaluable by Cougar fans, not perhaps for its immediate quality or the fairly standard nature of the chosen material, but as a fascinating record of a young man desperately keen to make his first impression on the music industry. Future echoes of what was to come are in evidence, as are a huge dose of youthful cockiness and a degree of ambition rarely seen in a debut release. This reissue is bolstered with six bonus tracks from the sessions which didn’t make the album’s final tracklist, including a take on Bowie’s Man Who Sold The World and Hit The Road Jack.

Tracklist:American Dream / Oh, Pretty Woman / Jailhouse Rock / Dream Killing Town / Supergirl / Chestnut Street / Good Girls / Do You Believe In Magic?/ Twentieth Century Fox / Chestnut Street Revisited / Sad Lady

Bonus Tracks - Man Who Sold The World / Little Heroes / Hit The Road Jack / Kicks / Need Somebody Baby / When I Was Young

Recorded in 1977 for RCA, The Kid Inside was intended as John Mellencamp’s second LP, a follow-up to the modestly successful Chestnut Street Incident. However, RCA, obviously underwhelmed by the material, declined to issued the album and promptly dropped JCM from their roster. It was eventually rescued by his former manager Tony Defries and issued in 1983, by which time Mellencamp was a huge star Stateside. Aswith our Chestnut Street Incident reissue, this album is now complete with four out-takes from the sessions which were not included on the original tracklist. A compilation entitled Skin It Back did include these tracks some years ago, but we think they make a fascinating insight reinstated to their correct place (and time) here.

TRacklist: Kid Inside / Take What You Want / Cheap Shot / Sidewalk And Streetlights / R. Gang / American Son / Gearhead / Young Genocides / Too Young To Live / Survive

Bonus Tracks - Skin It Back / Last Of The Big Time Spenders / Whore / Skin It Back (Acoustic)

Category News

Latest Articles