Primary Image

It's Tricky... & South Rakkas Crew

From the press release:

Wanna know what happens when the Tricky Kid meets South Rakkas Crew?

Well it happened and the results are in...Here's what Don Letts has to say:

"Straight outta Knowle West, Tricky’s always been about culturally mixing it up whether that be society, art or music. Not one to be defined by colour or genre (or even gender for that matter!), he’s boldly gone where the rest of the brothers won’t go to, constantly re-inventing himself and his sound. We’re talking dark, dense, rich and layered, incorporating all the world has to offer and nothing and I mean nothing is off limits. Through all of this he remains distinctly individual, his mercurial style attracting collaborations with music dons like Bjork, Grace Jones, DMX , Neneh Cherry, Terry Hall, PJ Harvey and Elvis Costello. And just when you think you got him figured out he makes a left turn and leaves you choking on his dust! How else would the Tricky Kid end up with South Rakkas Crew?

Born in Jamaica, grown in Toronto, settled in Florida, South Rakkas Crew come with serious credentials producing dancehall giants like Beenie Man, Bounty Killer, Elephant Man and Sizzla not to mention remixes for the likes of Bob Marley, Beck, Justin Timberlake, Alicia Keyes, Duran Duran and Britney Spears for Christsake! Between all of this they somehow find time to create some of the hottest dancehall riddims currently hitting the decks. The production duo draw on key urban influences from the past four decades, stick ‘em in a Carribean blender then throw in some cosmic keyboard riffs and killa b-lines for flavour.

Tricky Meets South Rakkas Crew is a version excursion of ten tracks from Tricky’s ‘Knowle West Boy’, where electro-dancehall collides with Tricky’s whispering ‘sprechgesang’ lyrical style to create a dancehall filler radio killer soundtrack thriller that seems to touch on all the happening urban sounds from around the globe. We’re talking hip-hop, reggae and rock inna dubstep dancehall style that’s left-of-centre pop for the 21st century. As Tricky says: ‘We come in peace and leave you in pieces’….." Don Letts 2009

Tricky’s C’mon Baby, taken from last year’s critically acclaimed Knowle West Boy, is given a booty-shaking make-over from hot Orlando-based production team, South Rakkas Crew. Renowned for their unique blend of Caribbean dancehall beats and massive riffs, South Rakkas Crew’s left-of-centre rhythms have previously attracted remixes from the likes of Beck and MIA. Their version of C’mon Baby is bound to get the masses on the dancefloor - watch out for their take on the full album, Knowle West Boy – now titled Tricky Meets South Rakkas Crew, due for release on November 30th.

C’mon Baby will be available on 7” (Domtrick2) and via digital download (Domtrick2D). Tracklisting is as follows:

A – Baby C’mon – Tricky Meets South Rakkas Crew
B – Baby C’mon - Tricky Meets South Rakkas Crew – instrumental

following on from the single the album Tricky Meets South Rakkas Crew will be available from 30th November 2009 on LP (WIGLP230), CD (WIGCD230) and via digital download (WIG230D).

Tracklisting is as follows:

1 – Bacative
2 – C’mon Baby
3 – Cross To Bear
4 – Baligaga
5 – Far Away
6 – Joseph
7 – Coalition
8 – Slow
9 – Numb
10 – Baligaga Dub

Category News

Latest Articles