Primary Image

Flood of Red are Leaving Everything Behind

Flood Of Red will release debut album ‘Leaving Everything Behind’ on their own label ‘Dark City’ on 19th October. The full-length will be preceded by single ‘Home Run (1997)’ on 5th October. Inspired by the emerging practices of the likes of Radiohead and Nine Inch Nails, Flood Of Red have decided to release their debut album via a variety of neat, independently-funded marketing techniques. The band is by-passing the standard practices of old, cutting out the middle men and selling straight to fans who can choose from a variety of album bundles - from basic digital downloads through to value-for-money packages featuring CDs, merchandise, exclusive tracks and more.

Leaving Everything Behind - Flood of Red album Oct 19th from Shaun Murawski on Vimeo.

Drummer Graham Griffith explained “We decided very early on that we wanted a bit more control over our careers, and we think we might have found a way of gettng it”. Graham continues “We really wanted people to be able to listen to the music as much as they wanted to for free, but also to give the people who want to own the record a bunch of ways to get it; we have some tracks available as free downloads, we’re going to stream the album through a shareable widget on our website 4 weeks up front of release and we’ve made varying levels of packages available from direct digital download through to a deluxe package with an exclusive shirt, a DVD, a digipak version of the record and a limited edition 12” vinyl. Hopefully there’s something there for everyone. We’re also encouraging people take hold of the shareable side of things and use our streaming and free download widgets on their own social network sites”.

Flood Of Red formed in Airdrie, a satellite town twelve miles east of Glasgow in 2004. Starting out as a trio who met via school and the local skate scene, they soon expanded to a sextet. The band went straight out on tour just months after their formation, all aged just seventeen, playing for £20 and cheese sandwiches per night (“If we were lucky…” laughs Graham). Long months of touring paid off as the band organically built a significant following and the music industry started to take note.

Fast-forward to January 2nd 2009 when Flood Of Red flew to Baltimore, Maryland where they spent a month recording their debut album with punk rock extraordinaire producer Brian McTernan (Cave In, Thrice, Converge) in his Salad Days studio. It was a time the band describes as being like a holiday “but a million times better - everything we had been working towards.”

Flood Of Red’s debut album proper sees them making a large leap into new territories. Toned-down are the screamo bits as the band now paint from a broader musical palette, incorporating the ambient and soundscape elements that earlier recordings hinted at, but without ever compromising on the heaviosity.

Flood of Red headline tour:
29 Sep 2009 London Garage (Upstairs)
30 Sep 2009 Southampton Hamptons
01 Oct 2009 Wolverhampton Civic Bar
02 Oct 2009 Yeovil Orange Box
03 Oct 2009 Nottingham Rock City Basement
04 Oct 2009 Cardiff Barfly
05 Oct 2009 York Fibbers
06 Oct 2009 Leeds Cockpit
07 Oct 2009 Liverpool Masque
08 Oct 2009 Wrexham Central Station
09 Oct 2009 Dundee Doghouse
10 Oct 2009 Glasgow Classic Grand
11 Oct 2009 Aberdeen Moshulu

Category News

Latest Articles