Primary Image

Ciao My Shining Star

REM's Michael Stipe & Radiohead's Thom Yorke lead the pack on a forthcoming tribute album...

September 14th sees the release of Ciao My Shining Star by Various Artists including Thom Yorke and Michael Stipe.

The album is a tribute to former Miracle Legion frontman Mark Mulcahy’s wife Melissa, who died suddenly last September, and features a collection of some of today’s greatest recording artists performing versions of Mulcahy’s songs. All proceeds from the sale of the album will go to Mark to help him continue his career while also raising his 3-year-old twin daughters.

The album features 21 exclusive tracks from, among others, Thom Yorke, Michael Stipe, Dinosaur Jr, Mercury Rev, The National, Frank Black, Frank Turner, Vic Chesnutt and Josh Rouse. In addition, a further 20 tracks will be made available digitally to promote the album from artists including AC Newman, Buffalo Tom and Laura Veirs.

Available on CD and as a digital download, the full track listing is as follows :

01 Thom Yorke - "All for the Best"
02 The National - "Ashamed of the Story I Told"
03 Michael Stipe - "Everything’s Coming Undone"
04 David Berkeley - "Love's the Only Thing That Shuts Me Up"
05 Dinosaur Jr. - "The Backyard"
06 Chris Harford and The Band Of Changes - "Micon the Icon"
07 Frank Black - "Bill Jocko"
08 Vic Chesnutt - "Little Man"
09 Unbelievable Truth - "Ciao My Shining Star"
10 Butterflies of Love - "I Have Patience"
11 Chris Collingwood of Fountains of Wayne - "Cookie Jar"
12 Frank Turner - "The Quiet One"
13 Rocket From the Tombs - "In Pursuit of Your Happiness"
14 Ben Kweller - "Wake Up Whispering"
15 Josh Rouse - "I Woke Up in the Mayflower"
16 Autumn Defense - "Paradise"
17 Hayden - "Happy Birthday Yesterday"
18 Juliana Hatfield - "We're Not in Charleston Anymore"
19 Mercury Rev - "Sailors and Animals"
20 Elvis Perkins - "She Watches Over Me"
21 Sean Watkins - "A World Away From This One"

Supporting shows in New York and London featuring some of the artists are expected to be announced shortly.

Mark Mulcahy was the front-man for Miracle Legion in the 1980s to mid 1990s. Shortly after their demise, Mark soon formed Polaris; a house band for the mid 1990s alternative television series The Adventures of Pete & Pete (1993-1996). They are perhaps best remembered for the song "Hey Sandy" as it was featured in the opening credits of each show.

Mulcahy has opened up for many notable artists including Oasis and Jeff Buckley, and received homage from Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke, who dedicated a song to Mulcahy at a Boston show. An essay on Mulcahy's song "Hey Self-Defeater" (from the album "Fathering") was featured in Nick Hornby's book 31 Songs.

Mark released his last album, In Pursuit Of Your Happiness, in 2005, which critics praised as "Majestic, mind-blowing, quite marvellous - your happiness is assured if you purchase this record" (The Sun) and “Terrific - his third solo album opens wounds and plays with the patterns as the blood runs free" (The Guardian). The Daily Telegraph said "the songs are intimate, intelligent, wise and melodic. But the really special thing is his voice: such range, such texture, such honesty - it's gorgeous".

Category News

Latest Articles