Westlife announce Greatest Hits tour - and split!

Update - 19 October:

"We today announce our plan to go our separate ways after a greatest hits collection this Christmas and a farewell tour next year. The decision is entirely amicable and after spending all of our adult life together so far, we want to have a well-earned break and look at new ventures. We see the greatest hits collection and the farewell tour as the perfect way to celebrate our incredible career along with our fans. We are really looking forward to getting out on the tour and seeing our fans one last time.

Over the years Westlife has become so much more to us than just a band. Westlife are a family. We would like to thank our fans who have been with us on this amazing journey and are part of our family too.

We never imagined when we started out in 1998 that 14 years later we would still be recording, touring and having hits together. It has been a dream come true for all of us."

- Kian, Mark, Nicky and Shane

Westlife have announced a nine-date arena tour for May 2012.

'The Greatest Hits Tour' will see the foursome visit Cardiff, Nottingham, London and Glasgow among others and is to promote the release of their Greatest Hits album (out just in time for Mum's Christmas stocking on November 21st).

Tickets for the tour go on sale this Friday (21st) morning at 9am priced at £44.00 and £38.50 in London and £41.50 in the regions (subject to booking fees) and are available from www.livenation.co.uk. Full details are as follows:

MAY 2012

14 - Newcastle - Metro Radio Arena
15 - Liverpool - Echo Arena
17 - Cardiff - Motorpoint Arena
19 - Sheffield - Motorpoint Arena
20 - Birmingham - LG Arena
22 - Nottingham - Capital FM Arena
23 - London - O2 Arena
26 - Manchester - Evening News Arena
27 - Glasgow - SECC

Westlife will also be releasing a new single to celebrate over 14 years in the music industry, during which they've notched up 14 number one singles and sold 44 million records worldwide. 'Lighthouse', written by Gary Barlow and John Shanks, is available digitally on November 13th with a physical release the day after. It is one of four new tracks that will be featured on their Greatest Hits album.

Category News Flash

Latest Articles