Shortlist announced for the Welsh Music Prize 2016

The sixth edition of the Welsh Music Prize has announced its shortlist of nominees. In with a chance of winning the 2016 prize are:

Winners of Best Album at the 2015 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards for their second album, Tincian, they have been shortlisted for their 2016 album Anian.

Alun Gaffey
Former member of psychedelic pop and indie band, Race Horses, is on the shortlist for his debut, self-titled, solo album.

Cate Le Bon
Bilingual singer-songwriter and previous Welsh Music Prize nominee, Cate Le Bon is up for her fourth album, Crab Day.

Climbing Trees
Pontypridd’s Cymrucana four-piece and BBC Introducing regulars have been nominated for their second album, Borders.

Welsh rockers, Datblygu have been making music since the early eighties, their 2015 album is competing for the award.

Meilyr Jones
Pitting against his former Race Horses band member, Meilyr is on the list for his first solo venture, 2013.

The alt folk band which represented Wales at Folk Alliance International, Kansas City in February, are nominated for their album Tir a Golau. They are the second Sbrigyn Ymborth label album on the list along with Alun Gaffey.

Right Hand Left Hand
A rock duo who have been on the live music scene for more than a decade are hoping for a win with their 2016 self-titled album.

Simon Love
It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time, the debut solo album from Simon Love, formerly of John Peel and Marc Riley favourites, The Loves has earnt a spot on the list.

Newport’s metal, come reggae, come dubstep rockers already have a number of titles including Best Live Band at the 2011 UK Metal Hammer 'Golden Gods' awards and the 2011 Kerrang! Devotion Award. Their album, Volume is hoping to add Welsh Music Prize 2016 to the trophy cabinet.

Winners of this year’s Welsh Language Album of the Year award at the Eisteddfod, Swnami’s self-titled album is bidding for its second award of the year.

The Anchoress
The debut album, Confessions of a Romance Novelist from singer, songwriter and storyteller Catherine Anne Davies, aka The Anchoress is the last but not least album on the shortlist.

The winner will be chosen by a panel of industry experts: Amy Wadge (Songwriter & Musician), Ashli Todd (Spillers Records), Derek Lloyd (hmv), Dwynwen Morgan (BBC Radio Cymru), Gwyn Eiddior (Y Nyth and BBC Horizons), Jen Long (DICE), Lowri Cooke (Cultural Critic), Neal Thompson (Focus Wales), Nici Beech (Artistic Curator and TV Producer), Noel Gardner (Buzz Magazine), Oliver Morris (UK Music) and Sarah Dennehy (Festival of Voice).

The Welsh Music Prize 2016 will be held on Thursday 24 November 2016 at The Depot, Cardiff. Tickets are on sale now. To get your tickets and for more information about the Welsh Music Prize visit the website.

Latest Articles