Nicole Atkins shares the love


Nicole Atkins releases her new album, Mondo Amore on the 28th March 2011 through Proper Records.

It’s been a tumultuous three years since the release of New Jersey-born Nicole Atkins’ acclaimed 2007 debut, Neptune City, and its follow-up, Mondo Amore, is a courageous, provocative work, fraught with dramatic tension and sweeping emotion. Mondo Amore has its genesis in a time of extreme turbulence for Atkins, a period which saw her parting ways with her former (major) label, while also dealing with the painful, personal end of “a relationship that should’ve ended two years before it actually did” with her long-term boyfriend.

Having spent the past few years living in her native Asbury Park, Atkins dealt with these seismic shifts by returning to her adopted home of Brooklyn. Despite the limited resources, she rallied together her many musical friends, and producer Phil Palazzolo (A.C. Newman, Ted Leo & The Pharmacists) offered his services behind the glass.

The loose collective of musicians who assisted Atkins on Mondo Amore has now morphed into a leaner, meaner backing combo, now dubbed The Black Sea. Comprising Yalkowsky, Kay, and drummer Ezra Oklan, the band has given Atkins still more reason to be enthused about her future.
“This is the best lineup I’ve ever played with,” she says. “It feels like a family, like a band of brothers and sisters.”

Mondo Amore Tracklisting: Vultures/Cry Cry Cry/Hotel Plaster/You Come To Me/My Baby Don’t Lie/This Is For Love/You Were The Devil/War Is Hell/Heavy Boots/The Tower

Check out the video for 'Vultures' below

Category News Flash

Latest Articles