New single and UK tour from Ólöf Arnalds

Ólöf Arnalds releases a new single Crazy Car, taken from her hotly anticipated new album Innundir Skinni, on 6th September 2010. ‘Crazy Car’ is Ólöf’s first recorded song delivered in English – one of three on the album, including single-to-be 'Surrender' which features Bjork’s distinctive vocal. 'Crazy Ca'r, with it’s wry yet heartfelt plea ‘please don’t go to America’ is a duet with Ragnar Kjartansson, husband of visual artist Ásdís Sif Gunnarsdóttir, who created Innundir Skinni's distinctive visuals.

Her first UK tour in September coincides with the album’s release on 13th September, the dates as follows:

04 Vlieland Island Into The Great Wide Open
12 Dorset End Of The Road Festival
14 London Bush Hall
15 Bristol Louisiana
16 Manchester Dulcimer
18 Glasgow Captains Rest
24 Dublin Fringe Festival

Leaving the impression of a classic troubadour with associations to early freak-folkers like Vashti Bunyan and Judee Sill, Ólöf - accompanied by musical foil, Davíð Þór Jónsson – made her UK live debut at Café Oto in April, seducing a crowd that arrived curious but left bedazzled by a magical two-hour show that oscillated between playful spontaneity and stark heart-breaking beauty, showcasing Ólöf’s extraordinary, enchanting voice and engaging stage presence. (Eccentrically, the pair provided the musical interlude to the show’s interval, playing covers, one of which, Kyu Sakamoto’s Sukiyaki appears on the flip of 'Crazy Car').

Produced by Sigur Ros’ Kjartan Sveinsson and Davíð Þór Jónsson, Innundir Skinni also features further contributions from Skúli Sverrisson (Laurie Anderson, Lou Reed), Shahzad Ismaily (Tom Waits, Plastic Ono Band, Bonnie "Prince" Billy), and María Huld Markan Sigfúsdóttir (Amiina).

Category News Flash

Latest Articles