New album from Tori Amos

With more than 12 million albums sold and multiple Grammy nominations, Tori Amos is one of the most successful and influential artists of her generation. A pioneer across multiple platforms, she was the first major-label artist to offer a single for download, has had her songs turned into graphic novels, and has produced pioneering videos throughout her career. She is renowned for her passionate and broad fan-base, her critically and commercially successful tours, and her ever-evolving live show.

The latest addition to Amos’s series of ground-breaking recordings, Night of Hunters, is her twelfth studio album and her first for Deutsche Grammophon. This 21st-century song cycle takes its inspiration from classical pieces spanning the last 400 years, by composers ranging from Bach and Schubert to Granados and Satie, and marks the return of Amos’s piano to centre stage. It is also her first studio album exclusively involving acoustic instruments. The songs are arranged for string quartet and flute, oboe, English horn, clarinet, bassoon and contrabassoon in various formations. For the recording Amos has put together an ensemble of outstanding performers from the classical world, including the award-winning young Polish string quartet Apollon Musagète and Berllin Philharmonic principal clarinettist Andreas Ottensamer.

With Night of Hunters, which she wrote and produced, Amos carries on the tradition of variations on a theme to create a bold new work while paying tribute to the mastery of the original compositions. In her own words: “I have used the structure of a classical song cycle to tell an ongoing, modern story. The protagonist is a woman who finds herself in the dying embers of a relationship. In the course of one night she goes through an initiation of sorts that leads her to reinvent herself, allowing the listener to follow her on a journey to explore complex musical and emotional subject matter. One of the main themes explored on this album is the hunter and the hunted and how both exist within us.”

Bosendorfer & Vocals: Tori Amos
String quartet: Apollon Musagète
Woodwind: Andreas Ottensamer (Clarinet), Nigel Shore (Oboe/English Horn), Laura Lucas (Flute), Peter Whelan (Bassoon) and Luke Whitehead (Contra Bassoon)
Additional Vocals: Natashya Hawley as Anabelle and Kelsey Dobyns as The Fire Muse

Strings and Woodwind arranged by John Philip Shenale

1. Shattering Sea
2. Snowblind
3. Battle of Trees
4. Fearlessness
5. Cactus Practice
6. Star Whisperer
7. Job’s Coffin
8. Nautical Twilight
9. Your Ghost
10. Edge of the Moon
11. The Chase
12. Night of Hunters
13. Seven Sisters
14. Carry

Nov 2 London, Royal Albert Hall
Nov 3 London, Hammersmith Apollo
Nov 4 Manchester, Apollo
Nov 6 Glasgow, Royal Concert Hall
Nov 8 Belfast, Waterfront
Nov 9 Dublin, Grand Canal Theatre

We need your help

Running a website like The Digital Fix - especially one with over 20 years of content and an active community - costs lots of money and we need your help. As advertising income for independent sites continues to contract we are looking at other ways of supporting the site hosting and paying for content.

You can help us by using the links on The Digital Fix to buy your films, games and music and we ask that you try to avoid blocking our ads if you can. You can also help directly for just a few pennies per day via our Patreon - and you can even pay to have ads removed from the site entirely.

Click here to find out more about our Patreon and how you can help us.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News Flash

Latest Articles