Maps & Atlases unveil the video for new single, Solid Ground

Emerging from the sweaty basement shows of Chicago’s rich underground scene, Maps & Atlases release their debut album, Perch Patchwork - FatCat’s 100th album release - on 4th October.

Check out the video for the first single off the album, 'Solid Ground' (out next week!).

The band have announced a headline tour for OCTOBER as follows:

8 Fri BRIGHTON The Hope
9 Sat LEEDS Brudenell Social Club
10 Sun GLASGOW Captains Rest
11 Mon MANCHESTER Deaf Institute
12 Tues LONDON Cargo
22 Fri LIVERPOOL O2 Academy 2
23 Sat DUBLIN Whelans

The Maps & Atlases sound is comparable to Band of Horses or TV On The Radio, the dynamism of Deerhoof or Vampire Weekend and the experimentation of Can. Live dates have seen them share stages with acts as diverse as FatCat’s Frightened Rabbit and Our Brother The Native, acclaimed experimental hardcore band mewithoutYou, and African legend Vieux Farka Toure – speaking volumes as to the broad-reach of sounds that Maps & Atlases encompass.

Perch Patchwork was recorded by Jason Cupp (The Elected, Finch, Nurses, Cast Spells) in Chicago – partly in guitarist/vocalist David Davison’s parent’s basement, partly in Steve Albini’s legendary Electrical Audio and partly in the band’s own Soothsayer Studio.

Category News Flash

Latest Articles