Maps & Atlases find Solid Ground

MAPS & ATLASES trail the release of their debut album with a brand new single 'Solid Ground' on 20th September.

The album, Perch Patchwork- marking FatCat’s 100th album release - follows on 4th October.

Formed in 2004, having met as art students at Chicago’s Columbia College, Maps & Atlases’ initial output (a 2006 EP titled ‘Tree, Swallows, Houses’) showcased their astute technical abilities and deft musicality, changing rhythms and tearing across guitar fretboards at breakneck speed. Their follow-up EP (2008’s ‘You and Me and the Mountain’), however, demonstrated a desire for a more measured – yet similarly unconventional - pop-orientated course that retained the mathematical precision of their first set of recordings, but demonstrated a stronger compositional virtuosity. It is this path that has led them to debut full-length Perch Patchwork, a densely textured, exhilarating body of work that sees the band developing further intricacies in songwriting, and in lush brass and string arrangements beyond the lightning-fast guitar lines that characterised earlier output - and the results are gripping. From the multi-part military drum lines of ‘The Charm’ to the nimbly overlaying, flickering guitars and almost Afro/Latin percussion of ‘Living Decorations’ to the soft Beach Boys-esque vocal chorus of ‘Israeli Caves’, this record is clearly the work of serious and brave musicians.

Last seen in the UK supporting Foals, the band have announced a headline tour for OCTOBER as follows:

8 Fri BRIGHTON Freebutt
9 Sat LEEDS Brudenell Social Club
10 Sun GLASGOW Captains Rest
11 Mon MANCHESTER Deaf Institute
12 Tues LONDON Cargo
22 Fri LIVERPOOL O2 Academy 2
23 Sat DUBLIN Whelans

Category News Flash

Latest Articles