Kikagaku Moyo share new track 'Melted Crystal'

Kikagaku Moyo have shared another new track from their forthcoming album House In The Tall Grass, set for release on 13 May via Guruguru Brain.

One of the record’s more introverted & contemplative moments, bassist Guy explains this latest track, ‘Melted Crystal’ saying: “I was just playing the guitar one day and the notes flowed from my fingers naturally… I like to make new by layering different guitar phrases. I like doing it that way because if it turns out well, each phrase melts into each other and becomes one. That’’s how I came up with the name Melted Crystal”.

Further details and tour dates are below the single, which is streaming below.

Kikagaku Moyo’s sound encompasses a broad spectrum of influence & elements of classical Indian music, Krautrock, traditional folk, and 70s Rock. Most importantly their music is about freedom of the mind and body, and building a bridge between the supernatural and the present. Improvisation is a key element to their sound.

Like a long journey House In The Tall Grass unfolds through many layers. Existing fans of Kikagaku Moyo will be comforted by the soft vocals harmonies and warm sitar, but what sets this release apart is the refinement of the band’s song-writing and their delicate execution. Side A begins with a pair of travelling songs where the interplay between the vocals, guitar, and sitar lift and suspend the listener on an unexpected journey. The patient listener is rewarded with tracks such as “Trad” and “Silver Owl” which demonstrate the masterful balance the band has between soft and loud; chaos and order, or being both cold and tender at the same time.

“We wanted to make a record which would bring scenic images to the listeners” explains drummer, Go Kurosawa. “The idea came to my mind when I took a trip to the north of Japan. It was very cold outside, but the place I stayed was warm. I was amazed by how quiet it was outside with the snow absorbing all sound. It felt like I was covering my ears with my hands or I was under the sea. We wanted this to be a conceptual album, not a compilation of discrete tracks. I had been listening to two film soundtracks, one written by Bruce Langhorne for a western movie called The Hired Hand, the other, Ry Cooder's soundtrack for Paris, Texas. I was deeply inspired by these records, and both created the kind of intense scenic images I was interested in.”

Kikagaku Moyo (translated as “geometric patterns”) started in the summer of 2012 busking on the streets of Tokyo. Though the band started as a free music collective, it quickly evolved into a tight group of multi-instrumentalists.

Last year they toured across Europe selling out shows in Berlin, London, Paris, Porto, Lisbon, Barcelona and Geneva. They appeared at Eindhoven Psych Lab and Duna Jam, earning a reputation as fierce and captivating performers. They also released a split 7” with Moon Duo late last year.

Kikagaku Moyo live dates:


25 Bristol, UK Cube
26 London, UK, London Fields Brewery
27 Manchester, UK, Star and Garter
28 Glasgow, Scotland, Nice’n'Sleazys
29 Leeds, UK, Karma Fest
30 Brighton UK, Bleach


23-24 Liverpool UK, Liverpool International Festival of Psychedelia (Guruguru Brain stage)

Category News Flash

Latest Articles