K-X-P debut album details


album preceded by playing UK dates at the new Optimo club and the Social

K-X-P is a drums, bass and synth trio from Helsinki, Finland, born out of the fire and ashes of the seminal Op:l Bastards, And The Lefthanded, both of which were led by Timo Kaukolampi. The band is comprised of Timo Kaukolampi (electronics, vocals), Tuomo Puranen (bass and keyboards) and rotating drummers Anssi Nykänen and Tomi Leppanen. The band mixes electronics, krautrock, noise, and even rockabilly into a hypnotic and minimal motorik groove inspired by Raymond Scott, Moondog and Martin Rev, and remindful of Spacemen 3, This Heat, 23 Skidoo, Suicide and NEU!.

The musical background of K-X-P’s members varies wildly, ranging from the disco-idiotism-turned-into-spiritual-hide-and-seek of Op:l Bastards, to the fusion and free jazz explorations of Pekka Pohjola, of which Anssi Nykänen was a member, and Jimi Tenor, in which Tuomo Puranen played, to the Kraftwerk-ish visions and East European soulscapes of Tomi Leppanen’s former band,Aavikko. Timo Kaukolampi is possibly best known as Annie’s main producer and co-writer; he’s the individual who connected Annie with Smalltown Supersound and led to STSS releasing her 2009 album, Don’t Stop.

K-X-P initially began to form in 2006 when Timo gave Smalltown Supersound some demos of a new project he was working on. Smalltown Supersound’s Joakim Haugland was completely blown away and in an effort to convince the not-yet-formed band to become an official unit, he booked them a gig in Oslo in 2007. Gradually forming around very loosely organized studio sessions based on Timo Kaukolampi’s programmed ideas, the Finns turned into the groove entity that is now K-X-P. The self-titled album was finally delivered to Smalltown Supersound in December of 2009.

Glasgow’s Optimo has been a strong supporter of the band from the beginning. Before K-X-P finished recording the new album, Optimo remixed their “18 Hours (Of Love)”. He also invited the band to be one of the final performers to play at his legendary Sunday club in Glasgow, Subclub. Unable to attend due to the ash cloud K-X-P are now due to play at the new Optimo night.

K-X-P Tracklisting:
1. Elephant Man
2. Mehu Moments
3. 18 Hours (Of Love)
4. Labirynth
5. Aibal Dub
6. Pockets
7. New World
8. Epilogue

Category News Flash

Latest Articles