Def Leppards Joe Elliot joins forced with The Quireboys in Down 'N Outz

Sometimes the most interesting of projects arise from the most unusual of circumstances. So it is that the Down ‘N Outz is a project fronted by Def Leppards Joe Elliott, backed by The Quireboys and playing rare tracks connected only by Mott The Hoople….

Joe Elliott takes up the story, “When Mott The Hoople announced they were reforming for a weeks worth of shows at the Hammersmith Odeon I was asked that I participate in some capacity. They’ve always been my favourite band and it’s nice to see the rest of the rock world finally catch up and give them their due.”

“But, what was I to do? It was suggested to me that the Quireboys would be up for offering their services. This was perfect! A fan since their first album, I loved the idea of working with a band as enthusiastic to do this as I was.”
“I decided that the thing to do was play some songs that like minded people thought they would never hear live again, if ever, songs by spin offs of Mott the Hoople – songs by Mott, Ian Hunter and British Lions. Songs that are close to my heart, songs that I’ve played every week for the best part of 35 years on record, cassette, CD, Ipod and now live”

The Down ‘N Outz supported Mott The Hoople’s at one of their legendary 2009 reformation shows at Hammersmith Odeon. In addition to Joe Elliott (Vocals/Guitar/Keyboards) the band featured The Quireboys Paul Guerin (Guitar), Guy Griffin (Guitar), Keith Weir (keyboards) and Phil Martini (drums) and finally bassist Ronnie Garrity (Raw Glory). Following a rapturous reception the one night project took on a life and energy of it’s own and an album project was born.

Down ‘N Outz then set about recording an albums worth of material. The album was produced by Joe Elliott with co-production by Ronan McHugh. The album was recorded at Joe Elliott’s own studio Joe’s Garage and Moor Hall studio in Bedfordshire.

Full tracklisting (with original recording artist) as follows

1. Golden Opportunity (Ian Hunter)
2. Storm (Mott)
3. Overnight Angels (Ian Hunter)
4. Career (No Such Thing As Rock 'n' Roll) (Mott)
5. England Rocks (Ian Hunter)
6. Shouting And Pointing (Mott)
7. By Tonight (Mott)
8. Who Do You Love (Ian Hunter)
9. One More Chance To Run (British Lions)
10. Good Times (Mott, originally recorded by The Easybeats)

Prior to it’s general release fans will be able to get hold of the 10 track album cover mounted on the issue of Classic Rock magazine on sale on the 23rd June 2010.
An extended version of the album will also be released through Mailboat Records (Joe Perry, Walter Becker, Chris Isaak, Jeff Bridges) on the 13th July 2010. The extended version will feature three extra tracks unavailable on the Classic Rock tied release.

Down ‘N Outz have also been confirmed to play the main stage of inaugural High Voltage festival at Victoria Park, London on Sunday the 25th July 2010. For further details, ticket information and an exclusive interview with Joe Elliott

Category News Flash

Latest Articles