Crystal Antlers look through the Two-Way Mirror

Crystal Antlers release their new LP Two-Way Mirror out 11th July via Recreation Ltd.

In early 2010, following the release of their first full-length album and the completion of nine US and European tours, Crystal Antlers finally settled down in the small Mexican farming town of La Punta Banda—it was there that the bulk of what would become Two-Way Mirror was born. After the drastic downsizing of their label, the legendary Touch and Go Records, the band was ready to take a moment and begin to bridge the gap into new territory. Beginning with their first two self-releases - Tapes Volume #1 Tentacles Era and Little Sister/Dead Horses 7-inch single - following their break with TG, the band began exploring new pathways and genres, touching on elements of avant-garde pop, surf rock, 1970’s folk, and grunge. Combined with their constantly evolving experimental, punk, noise & psychedelia, and addition/influence newest band member, organist Cora Foxx, Crystal Antlers’ second full length is a sound uniquely their own.

The band began recording Two-Way Mirror in September 2010 at the Compound studio in their hometown of Long Beach, California. Returning behind the mixing board were producer Ikey Owens and engineers Athony Arvizu & Jeff Lewis—the recording team behind Crystal Antlers seminal debut, EP. The production of Two-Way Mirror encompasses an enormous spectrum of sonic textures dynamically flowing from song to song with all of the intensity the band has come to be known for. Songs like

Acclaimed producer/mixer Jack Endino, (known for his work with Nirvana, Mudhoney etc) presided over mixing duties and finally, influential punk artist Raymond Pettibon over album art.

1. Jules’ Story
2. Seance
3. Summer Solstice
4. By The Sawkill
5. Two-Way Mirror
6. Way Out
7. Fortune Telling
8. Always Afraid
9. Knee Deep
10. Sun-Bleached
11. Dog Days

Category News Flash

Latest Articles