2013 Mercury nominees unveiled

The nominees have been unveiled for the Barclaycard Mercury Prize for 2013 Album of the Year.

Announced by Lauren Laverne at The Hospital Club in Covent Garden, the nominees for the 2013 prize are as follows:

Arctic Monkeys - AM (review)
David Bowie - The Next Day (review)
Disclosure - Settle
Foals - Holy Fire
Jake Bugg - Jake Bugg (review)
James Blake - Overgrown (review)
Jon Hopkins - Immunity
Laura Marling - Once I Was An Eagle (review)
Laura Mvula - Sing to the Moon
Rudimental - Home
Savages - Silence Yourself
Villagers - Awayland

The shortlist of 12 Albums of the Year was chosen by an independent judging panel and recognises artistic achievement across a range of music genres. You can watch coverage of the launch event tomorrow night [September 12] at 12.10am on Channel 4 in a 30-minute programme, presented by Nick Grimshaw and featuring live performances and interviews with the shortlisted artists.

This year, there will be a series of exclusive gigs featuring the shortlisted artists ahead of the Awards Show, which takes place on October 30th at the Roundhouse in London. Tickets for these one-off gigs will be made available through competitions and a special ballot system, developed in association with the Prize's title partner Barclaycard and The Ticket Factory.

Entry to the gigs will be free, although a donation of £10 will need to be made to War Child in order to secure each pair of tickets. Barclaycard will be matching all donations made using a Barclaycard. You can register for more information here.

Alt-J's An Awesome Wave took home the Mercury Prize in 2012.

Latest Articles