Tony Sly gets on the 12 Song Program

Tony Sly's 12 Song Program will be out on Fat Wreck Chords on February 16th. Known as pop-punk legends No Use For A Name's frontman, Sly straps on an acoustic guitar and a smattering of various other classic instruments for his solo debut album.

“I started writing songs a while back that didn’t really fit the mold of NUFAN and I felt like I wanted to do something different other than punk rock but the timing was never right,” Sly explains. Earlier this year when his band had a four-month break following an extensive world tour supporting their ninth full-length album The Feel Good Record Of The Year, Sly finally had the opportunity to focus on creating 12 Song Program. He immersed himself in these songs that are drawing on influences like the Beatles, Bob Dylan and David Bowie, and began playing solo shows at local bars to enthusiastic audiences. “I just love writing songs,” he summarizes, “that’s what all of this is about.”.

Coinciding with the release date, Tony Sly will set out onto a tour throughout Europe and the UK with Joey Cape, and Jon Snodgrass.

UK dates:

03/04/10 London, UK - Islington Bar Academy
03/08/10 Manchest, UK – Moho Live
03/09/10 Bristol, UK - The Croft
03/10/10 Southampton, UK - Joiners

Last updated: 18/04/2018 17:39:24

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News Flash

Latest Articles