Primary Image

Alberta Cross are back with a new single

Alberta Cross are set to release new single ‘Taking Control’ on November 23rd through Ark Recordings. Taken from their critically acclaimed debut album ‘Broken Side Of Time’, released last month, the track was described by The Fly as “a beautiful lulling rock number”. It sees the band showcase yet another helping of beautifully crafted rock, coloured with soulful acoustic touches.

“It’s about the big city and the draw to go out too much” explains guitarist/vocalist Petter Ericson Stakee. “The way we felt when we moved to New York City. About getting a bit messed up...the dark underbelly that sucks you in.”

Following support slots with Oasis, Dave Matthews band and Neil Young, plus festival appearances at Coachella, Bonnaroo, SXSW, Glastonbury and Lollapalooza, Alberta Cross’ debut LP ‘Broken Side of Time’ saw it’s much anticipated UK release on September 21st. Greatly received by press on both sides of the Atlantic, it took root in an April 2008 jam session and with the aid of a little drink and a little smoke, the five-piece jammed on a group of Stakee’s then-new songs with almost instant results. “I remember thinking that night, ‘This is gonna be insane,’” reminisces Stakee.

Their well-received debut EP, 2007’s The Thief & the Heartbreaker, was a modest, folk-minded, acoustic-based disc that garnered glowing reviews. But, for Stakee and bassist Terry Wolfers, it was a baby step. ‘Broken Side Of Time’, meanwhile, is a giant stride ahead, one that marks the band’s official introduction to America. Recorded in Austin, produced by the band with Mike McCarthy (Spoon, Dead Confederate, Heartless Bastards) & mixed by John O’Mahony (Depeche Mode, Coldplay, Kasabian) at Electric Lady Studios, the album melds propulsive, throbbing bass lines and crashing waves of guitar to a haunting, impassioned voice that can sound ancient and Appalachian.

Something of an about-face from The Thief & the Heartbreaker, the album, says Stakee, bears the influence of years of frustration logged in the shadow of Manhattan: “It’s kind of a desperation album, a darker album; it’s definitely angrier. We’ve been in a crazy place during the whole album, and you can hear that,” he explains. “But we’re trying to give people truly soulful music, which is hopefully inspirational. I want to ease their minds and give them a little break from reality.”

See Alberta Cross live in November:

11 Bristol The Cooler

12 Leeds Cockpit

13 Glasgow Captains Rest

15 Manchester Ruby Lounge

16 Birmingham Birmingham Bar Academy

17 London Bush Hall

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News

Latest Articles