Ikara Colt - Wake In The City

Ikara Colt are a splendid live band, as you'll already know if you've seen them or at least read the review here. Wake In The City is the second single from forthcoming album, Modern Apprentice and quite splendid it is.

It's less frantic, but more kinetic, than last single, Wanna Be That Way with a less heavy guitar production. Instead, the whole thing is driven by a relentless, stabbing bass line. Paul Resende's vocals are confident, husky and provide the song with its immediate hook. The whole thing last for about 3 minutes, and it's difficult to resist the temptation to play the thing again, which surely is a good sign as is the fact that the chorus, “..get me o-ut of here” will still rattle around in your head days later like an itch you can’t scratch. Produced by Alex Newport of At The Drive In and Icarus Line fame, it’s raw and punchy and certainly bodes well for the album.

Its available on a wide variety of formats, CD and 7”, and both include the title track with Till The End on the CD and Repitition graces the 7”. In addition, there’s an enhanced CD on offer which includes Keep It To Yourself as the B-Side and includes the video to Wake In The City. Catch them on tour if you can, and check out the website here.

Full Tour Dates

Tue 25/05/04 Birmingham, Medicine Bar
Thu 27/05/04 Sheffield, Foundry
Sat 29/05/04 Exeter, Cavern Club
Mon 31/05/04 Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
Tue 01/06/04 Southampton, Joiners
Wed 02/06/04 Brighton, Po Na Na
Thu 03/06/04 Bristol, Louisiana
Fri 04/06/04 Cardiff, Barfly
Sat 05/06/04 Donnington, Download Festival
Sun 06/06/04 Manchester, Night & Day
Mon 07/06/04 Leeds, Cockpit
Tue 08/06/04 Glasgow, King Tuts
Wed 09/06/04 Liverpool, Academy
Thu 10/06/04 Oxford, Zodiac
Fri 11/06/04 London, Garage

Overall

8

out of 10

Last updated: 19/04/2018 13:23:11

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Tags
Category Review

Latest Articles