Primary Image

Gong but not forgotten

GONG, the legendary psychedelic prog rockers today announced they will release their stunning new album “2032” on Monday 21st September. Released on Steve Hillage and Miquette Giraudy’s subsidiary G-Wave label, the album is officially released two months before Gong’s highly anticipated nationwide UK tour which kicks off at the Bristol O2 Academy on Thursday 19th November.

Described as exhilarating, compelling and other worldly, “2032” represents the first time Hillage has recorded with original Gong founder, Daevid Allen, since 1974’s “You” album. “2032” is a new installment that continues Gong’s famous ‘Radio Gnome’ album trilogy which includes the milestone psychedelic progressive rock albums - “Flying Teapot” (1973), “Angel’s Egg” (1973), and “You” (1974).

The line-up on the album includes Daevid Allen (guitar, lead vocal): Steve Hillage (lead guitar), Gilli Smyth (Space Whisper and poetry), Miquette Giraudy (synthesizer), Mike Howlett (bass), Chris Taylor (drums), and Theo Travis (sax and flute). Special guest performances on selected tracks include former Gong member Didier Malherbe (soprano sax, duduk, and flute) and Yuji Katsui (electric violin) of the Japanese progressive/psychedelic jam band Rovo.

2032 is when Planet Gong makes full contact with the Planet Earth; a major new chapter in the continually evolving Gong mythology,” says Daevid Allen, and who are we to argue?

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News

Latest Articles