Primary Image

The Return of Los Campesinos !

Just five months after the release of their debut, Los Campesinos! return with a brand new record, 'We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed'.

Entering the studio with the plan to record a new EP, the band were so happy with the10 tracks they recorded, they wanted to put them out immediately.

Warmer in tone than its predecessor – but no less bursting with energy and creativity - 'We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed’, is further proof of a band, who given the space afforded to them by a label that treats them as artists with longevity, have crafted a collection of near perfect pop songs.

In the band’s own words:

“Hello there!

We at Los Campesinos! are very happy to announce the release of a new record.

Coming on October 13th is 'We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed': ten brand new tracks recorded in Seattle from June 12-23rd with our dear friend Mr John Goodmanson (Blonde Redhead, Sleater-Kinney, Bikini Kill, Wedding Present, Wu Tang) and mixed immediately after at Monnow Valley in Wales.

And despite 'Hold On Now, Youngster...' being only 5 or so months old, we wanted to emphasise that this is no post-album cash in.

It's no B-Sides and rarities or "songs that weren't good enough to be on the album cobbled together with some remixes and field recordings of Cardiff's indie scene"; it's ten all-new tracks that none of you have ever heard before.

Sure, we considered re-releasing a radio-edit of 'You! Me! Dancing!' and trying to get famous and scraping another tour out of that, but our parents unanimously agreed that if we did they would never speak to us again.

Rather, we are blessed with having an incredibly supportive record label in Wichita, and they are as excited about such freedom, frivolities and spontaneity in releases as we are.

So the tracklisting looks like this:

1. Ways To Make It Through The Wall
2. Miserabilia
3. We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed
4. Between An Erupting Earth And An Exploding Sky
5. You'll Need Those Fingers For Crossing
6. It's Never That Easy Though, Is It? (Song For The Other Kurt)
7. The End Of The Asterisk
8. Documented Minor Emotional Breakdown # 1
9. Heart Swells/Pacific Daylight Time
10. All Your Kayfabe Friends

Love, as ever,


Last updated: 18/04/2018 22:37:24

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News

Latest Articles