The Holiday Plan - The Green Lights EP

Formed in east London, The Holiday Plan follow up their debut EP with this, released on the same day as they begin a national headlining tour with My Awesome Compilation in support.

In about a week's time, Blink 182 will release I Miss You, as close as that band will ever get to a love song but which is still far from being the real thing. At fault is Blink 182's ability to let go of their punk background and just give in to something else...something that doesn't seem to trouble The Holiday Plan.

With a loose touch and a clean recording of their otherwise raw sound, The Green Lights EP is a good collection of four tracks, which range from the rock of Wasting Time and Stories to the tense Green Lights & Stop Signs that shows The Holiday Plan stretching out. Of course, none of it sounds as though its come from a London band, being closer to West Coast US punk so thank the EP's last track, Black Clouds Over Hackney, for bringing the sound back to this side of the Atlantic.

Next step for The Holiday Plan is the release of their debut album, which was recorded earlier this year in New Jersey with Sal Villanueva and Tim Gilles. Note that you have a chance to see The Holiday Plan over the coming fortnight on the following dates and venues:

23 February - Leeds - Joseph Wells
24 February - Liverpool - Barfly
25 February - Newcastle - University
26 February - York - Fibbers
27 February - Glasgow - Barfly
28 February - Sheffield - Fez Club
29 February - Cardiff - Barfly
1 March - Birmingham - Academy 3
2 March - Manchester - Roadhouse
3 March - Stourbridge - Rock Cafe
4 March - London - Underworld



out of 10

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category Review

Latest Articles