Meilyr Jones shares a single from his debut album '2013'

Meilyr Jones has shared the single 'Return to Life', with an accompanying video of studio footage, taken from his new album 2013 out on 18 Mar.

You can read details of and watch this video's – very full! – orchestral arrangement below, followed by details of his extensive UK tour including new dates with John Grant.



Working closely on arrangements with composer Joseph Davies, Jones assembled a 30-strong orchestra “out of friends, and friends of friends of friends, in the same way that if you were to start a pop band.” There was a saxophonist, a bassoonist, a clarinetist, some classical players, jazz players, and brass players from his tuba days. For two days they all gathered at a recording studio in South London, with the producer Iwan Morgan and the engineer Jimmy Robertson.

“I wanted to record it completely live,” Jones explains. “The idea was doing it like a Frank Sinatra session.”

Over these days they recorded the main body of the tracks 'Olivia', 'Return to Life', 'Passionate Friend', 'Rome' and 'Be Soft', the songs later embellished with further additions - the Glad Café Choir from Glasgow, field recordings of birds, three trombonists recorded in a cemetery, among them.


Tuesday 22 March - Rough Trade East, London Tickets
Monday 18 April Point Ephémère, Paris Tickets
Monday 25 April Ramsgate Music Hall, Ramsgate Tickets
Tuesday 26 April Moth Club, London Tickets
Wednesday 27 April Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham Tickets
Thursday 28 April The Louisiana, Bristol Tickets
Friday 29 April Studio 2, Liverpool Tickets
Saturday 30 April Live At Leeds, Leeds Tickets
Monday 2 May The Cluny, Newcastle Upon Tyne Tickets
Tuesday 3 May King Tut's Wah Wah Hut, Glasgow Tickets
12 - 14 May Focus Wales, Wrexham Tickets
Friday 13 May Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff Tickets
19 - 21 May The Great Escape, Brighton Tickets
Wednesday 8 June Salisbury City Hall, Salisbury Tickets with John Grant
Thursday 9 June Millennium Centre, Cardiff Tickets with John Grant
Friday 10 June O2 Institute Birmingham, Digbeth Tickets with John Grant
11 - 12 June Field Day, London Tickets
21 - 24 July Secret Garden Party, Huntingdon Tickets
22 - 24 July Deer Shed Festival, Thirsk Tickets
22 - 24 July Tramlines, Sheffield Tickets
29 - 31 July Standon Calling, Standon Tickets
18 - 21 August Green Man Festival, Brecon Beacons Tickets
2 - 4 September Electric Picnic, Stradbally Tickets
2 - 4 September End of the Road Festival, Salisbury Tickets

Last updated: 30/05/2018 17:44:43

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News Flash

Latest Articles