Shonen Knife return with a new album and debut single

Japanese cult pop punk trio Shonen Knife return with a new album Adventure released by Damnably on 1st April, from which we're honoured to present the debut single, 'Jump Into the New World'.

For this album, founding member and chief songwriter Naoko on vocals and guitar, is joined by original drummer Atsuko on bass, and new member Risa on drums. In addition to Naoko, the band's other ever presents return: their smiling lyrics and catchy melodies.

Kurt Cobain famously described Shonen Knife with the line "When I finally got to see them live, I was transformed into a hysterical nine-year-old girl at a Beatles concert". You can confirm Kurt's comment holds true by catching their extensive British and Irish tour, after listening to the album's debut single and watching their in-studio video below.

As the band instruct in their in-studio video, "Let's rock!".

14 April : Ruby Lounge - Manchester, UK
15 April : Pontin’s Holiday Centre (ATP) - Prestatyn, UK
16 April : Oobleck - Birmingham, UK
17 April : Dingwalls - London, UK
19 April : Princess Pavilion - Falmouth, UK
20 April : Joiners - Southampton, UK
21 April : The Haunt - Brighton, UK
22 April : Boileroom - Guildford, UK
23 April : Arts Centre - Norwich, UK
24 April : Arts Centre - Colchester, UK
26 April : Brudenell - Leeds, UK
27 April : Gateshead Sage 2- Newcastle, UK
28 April : Summerhall - Edinburgh, UK
29 April : CCA - Glasgow, UK
30 April : Whelans - Dublin, IE
02 May : Crane Lane - Cork, IE
04 May : Arts Club - Liverpool, UK
05 May : Maze - Nottingham, UK
06 May : Musician - Leicester, UK
07 May : Esquires - Bedford, UK
08 May : Fleece - Bristol, UK

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News Flash

Latest Articles