Primary Image

Music news round up: w/e 8 Sept

'Standing In The Dark' will be the third single released by Lawson, out on October 14th ahead of the release of their debut album Chapman Square the following week on the 22nd. Check out a lyric video for the track below and read on for information about their Hometowns tour, starting October 31st in Liverpool.

31 Liverpool Academy 2

1st Sheffield Leadmill SOLD OUT
2nd Brighton Concorde 2 SOLD OUT
5th Nottingham Rescue Rooms SOLD OUT
6th London Koko


Following the release of their debut single earlier this year, SHINIES have announced that their new double A-side single 'Ennui / Eighteen' will be out on October 22nd through Dirty Bingo Records. Listen to 'Ennui' below.


Currently putting the finishing touches on their debut album with Stephen Street, Life In Film - who recently signed with Sony - have made their recent EP Needles & Pins available to stream online. Check it out here.


New York duo MS MR, who are the first band ever to use Tumblr to exclusively release an EP of original material, are set to release that EP through iTunes and on limited edition 7" vinyl on October 22nd. The four-track EP Candy Bar Creep Show will be released track-by-track on Tumblr (through, along with artwork, a video and an official remix, throughout September before its physical October release. Track listing (and Tumblr schedule) is below, as well as details of their first ever UK shows.

1. Bones (available on Tumblr now)
2. Hurricane (Tumblr from September 10th)
3. Dark Doo Wop (Tumblr from September 17th)
4. Ash Tree Lane (Tumblr from September 24th)

8th Sept - Bestival
12th Sept - Birthdays in Dalston
13th Sept – The Barfly


Ahead of the release of his new double album Sundark And Riverlight (out on October 15th), Patrick Wolf has covered Lana Del Rey's 'Born To Die' on Dermot O'Leary's BBC Radio 2 Show. Have a listen below.


Simone Felice will release a new EP entitled New York Times on October 22nd via Reveal records. The EP is the follow up to Simone’s critically acclaimed debut solo album, the self titled Simone Felice, which was released in April 2012.

Track listing:
1. New York Times
2. The Radio
3. War Movie
4. Great Big Circle
5. California

Fresh from playing dates on Mumford & Sons’ Gentlemen Of The Road tour in the US, Simone will head out on a UK tour in September. Starting in Bath on September 14th and finishing in Liverpool on the 25th, the ten-date tour will also include a night at Union Chapel, London.

Tour dates:
Sep 14 - Chapel Arts Centre, Bath
Sep 15 - The Duchess, York
Sep 16 - The Musician, Leicester
Sep 17 - The Trades Club, Hebden Bridge
Sep 18 - The Maltings, Ely
Sep 20 - Arts Centre, Norwich
Sep 21 - Union Chapel, London
Sep 22 - The Greystones, Sheffield
Sep 24 - The MetBury
Sep 25 - Kazimer, Liverpool


First Aid Kit will release an exclusive iTunes Session on September 10th. Recorded in New York, Sear Sound studio in July, the session includes songs from their second album The Lion's Roar, their debut LP The Big Black And The Blue and their debut EP Drunken Trees, as well as their rendition of the Patti Smith song 'Dancing Barefoot'.

Track listing:
1. Wolf
2. The Lion's Roar
3. Emmylou
4. Dancing Barefoot
5. Waltz For Richard
6. Blue
7. Our Own Pretty Ways
8. King of the World


To celebrate the 25th anniversary of Level 42’s double-platinum hit album Running In The Family, Universal Music are have announced the reissues of the album in Box Set, Deluxe Edition and standard formats on October 8th. The album’s reissue campaign will coincide with an 18-date ‘Level 42: Running In The Family UK Tour’ throughout October.

The reissue of Running In The Family, will appear across three different packages: a four-disc box set, a two-CD Deluxe Edition and a remastered one-CD & digital download of the original album. The box set will include the remastered original album and 12” mixes, plus a second disc titled Running In The Family - acoustic re-interpretations 25 years on, featuring exclusive tracks recorded recently by Level 42's singer & bassist Mark King. Disc three features the band’s celebrated live concert at Wembley Arena in 1987 and, for the time on DVD, disc four contains the documentary ‘Fait Accompli: Onstage Offstage Backstage’, documenting a year in the life of Level 42. The DVD is complete by the promo videos for ‘Lessons In Love’, ‘Running In The Family’, ‘To Be With You Again’, ‘It’s Over’, ‘Children Say’ and ‘Fashion Fever’.


A deluxe edition of Arc Of A Diver, the second solo album recorded by Steve Winwood will be released on September 24th. The album was performed entirely by Steve Winwood himself.

The bonus disc features three extra tracks; 'Arc Of A Diver' (4:14 - the edited US single version), 'Spanish Dancer' (6:08 - radio edit 2010 version) and 'Night Train' (6:30 - instrumental version from the UK 12” single which has never been released on CD). It also features the BBC Radio 2 documentary - ‘Arc Of A Diver, The Steve Winwood Story’.


Converge will release their new studio album All We Love We Leave Behind on October 8th, along with a deluxe package that includes a 48 page full-colour hardcover, clothbound book with original art created by front-man Jacob Bannon via Epitaph (vinyl on Deathwish).

Check out the video for ‘Aimless Arrow’ below.

Following the release of All We Love We Leave Behind, Converge will embark on an extensive European tour in. UK dates are as follows:

26 November UK - Birmingham @ O2 Academy 2
27 November UK - Colchester @ Arts Centre
28 November UK - Glasgow @ Classic Grand
29 November UK - Manchester @ Academy 2
30 November Ireland - Dublin @ The Button Factory
1 December UK - Brighton @ Concorde 2


James Iha is to release his first solo album in nearly 15 years on November 5th on The End Records . Look To The Sky is a psychedelic, melodic and ultimately more textured record than the stripped back sounds showcased on his debut. It features guests such as Karen O and Nick Zinner of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Sara Quin of Tegan and Sara, Nathan Larson of Shudder To Think and Television's Tom Verlaine.

Watch the video of ‘To Who Knows Where’, released in Japan earlier this year, below.


Thrice have announced that Anthology is to be released on October 29th. The four-LP/two-CD live set was recorded during their recent farewell tour.

Along the tour, live audio was recorded at select stops and has now been compiled into the album, which will be released on Staple Records/Workhorse Music Group. The live recording features 24 songs and will be available digitally, on two CDs, and as a limited edition box set containing four LP’s. The LP box set is limited to just 3000 stamped and numbered pieces and will include a 24-page booklet along with two black LP’s and two white LP’s all on 180 gram vinyl. The track listing and pre-order details will be announced in the coming weeks.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Latest Articles