Freddie Mercury's Barcelona gets revamp

Island Records have announced the release on 3rd September 2012 of a special 25th Anniversary edition of Freddie Mercury and Montserrat Caballé’s Barcelona album. The re-release features an entirely newly orchestrated re-working of the recordings.

Arriving at the same time will be a major new documentary The Great Pretender and a freshly authored and illustrated book, “Freddie Mercury: The Great Pretender - A Life in Pictures” which is released on September 3rd (Goodman,£25).

Mercury recorded his original album almost entirely on keyboards. This 2012 special edition replaces Mercury and co-writer and producer Mike Moran’s synthesized arrangements with a full symphonic orchestral score performed by the eighty piece FILMharmonic Orchestra, Prague. Rufus Taylor, Queen band member Roger Taylor’s son, has replaced the drum machines on ‘The Golden Boy’ and ‘How Can Go On’ with live percussion. The latter song also boasts a new violin solo from classical violinist David Garrett joining Queen’s John Deacon’s original bass part.

The album will be available in CD & Deluxe CD and Digital formats to include bonus audio and DVD extras. See track listings.

‘Barcelona- The Special Edition’ album release is accompanied by a brand new TV/DVD documentary ‘The Great Pretender’ (Eagle Rock) focusing on Freddie’s solo career and life outside Queen produced and directed by Rhys Thomas. The documentary features never-before-seen footage of Freddie, including hilarious and emotional interviews re-discovered in the Queen archives for the first time recently. ‘The Great Pretender’ is released on DVD & Blu-ray on September 24.


Disc 1 – Barcelona – The Special Edition – New Orchestrated album

1. Barcelona

2. La Japonaise

3. The Fallen Priest

4. Ensueno

5. The Golden Boy

6. Guide Me Home

7. How Can I Go On

8. Exercises In Free Love

9. Overture Piccante

Bonus Track

10. How Can I Go On Feat. David Garrett

Disc 2: The Best of the Rarities & Session Out-takes

1. Exercises In Free Love (1987 B-side)

2. Barcelona (Early Version: Freddie's Demo Vocal)

3. La Japonaise (Early Version: Freddie's Demo Vocal)

4. Rachmaninov's Revenge (The Fallen Priest) (Later Version: Freddie's Demo Vocal)

5. Ensueno - Monsterrat's Live Takes

6.The Golden Boy (Early Version: Freddie's Demo Vocal)

7.Guide Me Home / How Can I Go On (Alternative Versions)

8.How Can I Go On (Alternative Piano Version)

Disc 3: – DVD Disc

1.Ku Club Ibiza Performance – Barcelona

2. La Nit Barcelona Performance - Barcelona (5m46s)

How Can I Go On (3m58s)

The Golden Boy (5m58s)

3. Barcelona – Classic Video 4m25s

4. Barcelona – The Special Edition EPK

5. Barcelona – 2012 edit by Rhys Thomas 4m49s

Disc 4: – Barcelona – The Special Edition Album Orchestral Version

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Latest Articles