Dexys set date for new album

Dexys release their fourth album, One Day I’m Going To Soar, on Monday June 4th 2012. This will be their first album in 26 years, following the release of Don’t Stand Me Down in 1985.

The album, coming out through BMG Rights Management, features previous members Kevin Rowland, Mick Talbot on keyboards, Pete Williams on bass and Jim Paterson (who co-wrote some of the tracks) on trombone and will be released under the Dexys name. It also features Neil Hubbard and Tim Cansfield on guitars, Madeleine Hyland on vocals, Lucy Morgan on viola and Ben Trigg leading the string section.

The track listing of the album is as follows:

1. Now
2. Lost
3. Me
4. She Got A Wiggle
5. You
6. Thinking Of You
7. I’m Always Going To Love You
8. Incapable Of Love
9. Nowhere Is Home
10. Free
11. It’s OK John Joe

Kevin Rowland says of the project:

“I got lucky. I couldn’t have made this record five years ago. Or ten years ago. Everything seemed to fall into place. I already had many of the songs around for a while written with Jim Paterson and others but was struggling to take them forward. Then I realised I needed heavyweight help and ran into Mick Talbot. Soon it became obvious that Pete Williams should play the bass.

I don’t know why, but it seems like the stars were aligned. Everything seemed to work, whereas previously, it hadn’t. It seemed there were so many people willing this to happen and keen to put in as much time and effort as was needed to make it live up to its potential - not least Mick Talbot (keyboards and co producer) and Pete Schwier (engineer and co producer) - massive contributions both. I couldn’t have done it without either of them, or the efforts of the other musicians. This is a Dexys record, not a Kevin Rowland record. It’s now called Dexys, NOT Dexys Midnight Runners because it’s the same, but it’s also not the same."

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Latest Articles