Various - Kitsuné Maison Compilation 10

Kitsuné Maison compilations are always a bit hit or miss, being mainly stuffed full of new acts who have as much chance of being on the fast track to a career in McDonald’s as hitting the big time. Despite being something of a celebration edition and stretching to two discs rather than the usual one, this is the worst in recent memory. It’s certainly the first time I’ve heard Kitsuné pushing a band who might as well be Coldplay (Waylayers).

The rest wavers unsatisfyingly between the expected indie, electro and dance in a way that suggests trying to hit the target marked 'zeitgeist' is more important than making a memorable tune. Or in other words, you won't be humming many of these once listening is over. Particularly disappointing is 'Blitz', a new track by Digitalism which doesn’t even bother trying not to resemble a half-arsed Daft Punk effort.

Still, KM10 is occasionally diverting. (With 25 tracks, you’d expect some luck.) CLOCK OPERA, the band the label think could be an ‘electronic Coldplay’, actually sound vocally more like Elbow. Then there’s 'Sorry', a collaboration between German producer Justus Köhncke and Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor, which has at least some of that band’s charming weediness and pop punch. The most compelling reason to buy this, however, is Guards’ 'Don’t Wake The Dead'. Fuzzed-up, psychedelic American rock full of joie de vivre, it really ought to be keeping better company.



out of 10

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category Review

Latest Articles