Weezer get Lost

Weezer have announced plans to release a new studio album entitled Hurley this 13th September on Epitaph Records.

Produced by Cuomo and Shawn Everett (Raditude, Phantom Planet, Ozomatli), Hurley is a high-energy rock album that wastes no time with the first single “Memories,” an impassioned look at nostalgia with fast tempo, buzzing guitar riffs and killer hooky chorus. Subsequent songs include soon to be fan favorites “Ruling Me,” “Trainwrecks,” “Hang On” and “Brave New World.” Rivers picks up the acoustic guitar on the reinvented power ballad “Unspoken” and the raw Sixties influenced, Mac Davis co-written “Time Flies.” The classic Weezer sound is reignited with songs like “Smart Girls,” “Run Away” and the quirky “Where’s My Sex?” Fueled by a newfound sense of independence, Hurley finds the band making some of the most powerful and adventuresome music of their storied career.

"We struggled super hard trying to come up with an album title, trying to find some kind of phrase that summed up the whole aesthetic behind the album: 'Heavy Mental,' 'Smaller Than Life,'" Cuomo recently told Spinner.com. "I was coming up with all kinds of stuff, but ultimately, we just went with some random word that doesn't really have anything to do with anything. I just loved this photo of Jorge Garcia -- it just had this amazing vibe. We didn't want to do a fourth self-titled record and we knew people would refer to it as 'the Hurley record' even if left it without that title, so we just called it 'Hurley.' No words are on the cover because all we wanted was his amazing face."

Hurley Track Listing (Standard Edition):

1. Memories – 3:16
2. Ruling Me – 3:30
3. Trainwrecks – 3:21
4. Unspoken – 3:01
5. Where’s My Sex? – 3:28
6. Run Away – 2:55
7. Hang On – 3:33
8. Smart Girls – 3:11
9. Brave New World – 3:57
10. Time Flies – 4:04

A deluxe edition adds another four tracks. (Pic: Sean Murphy)

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News Flash

Latest Articles