The Music Fix Monthly Playlist - March

What's seducing TMF's eardrums this month? This blooming lot, that's what.

Alkaline Trio - Another Innocent Girl (Mercury)
Because some bands make sense when the world doesn't.

Animal Collective - Brothersport (Domino)
The highlight of their new album, reviewed in January, and a track fans of new single 'My Girls' just need to hear.

Bat For Lashes - Daniel (Parlophone)
Gorgeous, haunting, a bit Kate Bushy, bodes well for new album, Two Suns, out April 6th.

The Boy Least Likely To - The Boy Least Likely To Is A Machine (Too Young To Die)
Dizzy, disturbing, dystopian ditty.

BPA feat. Martha Wainwright - Spade (Southern Fried)
Ms Wainwright teams up with Fatboy, resulting in the sexiest thing she's done and a song to wish summer here NOW.

Deer Tracks - Yes You Are My Broken Shield (Despotz Records)
Lead track from their stunning debut album, ‘Aurora’.

The Eurythmics - Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) (RCA)
Bat For Lashes gorgeous cover version led to endless plays of the original.

Glass Candy - Covered In Bugs (IDIB)
I don't want realism. I want magic! Yes, yes, Magic!

Hundred Reasons - Sick Little Masquerade (PIAS)
Anger breeds great art.

Kap Bambino - Red Sign / Acid Eyes (Alt/Del)
Molotov cocktails of fantastic destruction.

Kill It Kid - Send Me An Angel Down (One Little Indian)
Brilliant forthcoming single that everyone must hear.

Little Boots - New In Town (Fred Falke Remix Vocal) (679)
"Take me out tonight, where there's music and there's people and they're young and alive."

Manic Street Preachers - Judge Yr'self (Sony)
“God have mercy on the man who doubts what he's sure of”....JFPL 05/09.

The Prodigy - Warrior's Dance (Cooking Vinyl)
Sirens, sped up sampled vocals, kicking beats, a return to rave; like the last 15 years never happened, which would be good if it meant no Coldplay.

Ride - Drive Blind (Creation)
Remember them? This is a f#*%$ing tune, right here. Simples.

Royksopp - This Must Be It (Wall of Sound)
Featuring the untamed vocals of Karin from The Knife, this is, on first few listens, the standout track on Junior, even if it occasionally threatens to turn into a disco version of Holding Out For A Hero.

The Smiths - Reel Around The Fountain (Rough Trade)
A work of lyrical genius which keeps creeping back onto our CD players.

Wake The President - Professor (Electric Honey)
Proof that Scotland + guitar is still a winning blend.

Warren Zevon - Keep Me In Your Heart (Virgin)
The world breaks everyone, and afterward many are strong at the broken places.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Soft Shock (Polydor)
Rubbish album, great track. You would think that after all these years we’d have learnt that every great band eventually sucks.

Category Blog

Latest Articles