Primary Image

US Studio Ghibli titles in May

Disney have announced the US home entertainment release of three Studio Ghibli titles on 22 May 2012. The Japanese animation house's most recent western release The Secret World of Arrietty will debut on DVD and Blu-ray alongside Blu-ray Combo Pack releases of two classics - Castle in the Sky and Whisper of the Heart.

The Secret World of Arrietty

  • 1080P 1.85:1 Widescreen
  • Japanese & English* 5.1 DTS-HD MA
  • French DD5.1
  • English, English SDH & French subtitles
  • Blu- ray Combo Pack: (1 Blu -ray Disc + 1 DVD)
  • Storyboard presentation of the film
  • Original Japanese Trailers and Television Commercials
  • “Summertime” Music Video – Performed by Bridgit Mendler, the speaking voice of Arrietty.
  • The Making Of “ Summertime” Behind the Scenes – Bridgit Mendler hosts a look at the making of the music video.
  • “Arrietty’s Song” Music Video – Experience the movie’s theme song, performed by innovative singer and harpist Cé cile Corbel, who also wrote the lyrics.

  • 1.85:1 Anamorphic Widescreen
  • Japanese, English* & French DD5.1
  • English, English SDH and French subtitles
  • "Summertime" Music Video
  • The Making of "Summertime"

*The American produced English dub track is different to that found on the UK release and features the voices of Will Arnett, Amy Poehler, Bridgit Mendler, Moises Arias, David Henrie and Carol Burnett.

Castle in the Sky
  • 1080P 1.85:1 Widescreen
  • Japanese 2.0 DTS-HD MA
  • English 5.1 DTS-HD MA
  • French DD2.0
  • English, English SDH & French subtitles
  • Disc introduction by John Lasseter
  • Original Japanese Storyboards
  • Behind the Studio – Explore the film’s fantastic world in these featurettes:
    • The World of Laputa
    • Creating “Castle in the Sky”
    • Character Sketches
    • Producer’s Perspective: Meeting Miyazaki
    • Scoring Miyazaki
    • Original Japanese Trailers
    • Behind the Microphone – with voice talent from the film

Whisper of the Heart
  • 1080P 1.85:1 Widescreen
  • Japanese & English 5.1 DST-HD MA
  • English, English SDH & French subtitles
  • 4 Masterpieces of Naohisa Inoue – Watch the evolution of four different scenes by master artist Naohisa Inoue
  • Original Japanese Storyboards
  • Behind the Microphone––With voice talent from the film
  • Original Japanese Trailers and TV Commercials


We need your help

Running a website like The Digital Fix - especially one with over 20 years of content and an active community - costs lots of money and we need your help. As advertising income for independent sites continues to contract we are looking at other ways of supporting the site hosting and paying for content.

You can help us by using the links on The Digital Fix to buy your films, games and music and we ask that you try to avoid blocking our ads if you can. You can also help directly for just a few pennies per day via our Patreon - and you can even pay to have ads removed from the site entirely.

Click here to find out more about our Patreon and how you can help us.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Latest Articles