Primary Image

Network DVD in May

Below is a look at what titles Network have coming to UK DVD in May 2009...

4th May 2009

Pardon The Expression – Series 1 - £19.99 RRP – The first series of this Coronation Street spin-off comes to DVD for the first time. Episodes are spread across two-discs with no extras.

The Cuckoo Waltz – Series 1 - £12.99 RRP – All 7 episodes from the first series of this Granada sitcom. There are no extras.

Two’s Company – Series 3 - £12.99 RRP – Remade as ‘The Two of Us’ in the US, the third series of this classic British sitcom comes to DVD with no extras.

Surgical Spirit – Series 2 - £12.99 RRP - Nicola McAuliffe and Duncan Preston star in this medical sitcom. The second series comes to DVD with no extras.

Will Shakespeare – The Complete Series - £19.99 RRP – Tim Curry and Ian Mcshane star in this six-part John Mortimer adaptation about William Shakespeare’s sixteen years in London. Extras include an image gallery and a PR PDF.

Twelfth Night - £12.99 RRP - Alec Guinness, Ralph Richardson, Tommy Steele and Joan Plowright star in this Saturday Night Theatre adaptation of one of Shakespeare’s best-loved comedies.

11th May 2009

Spitting Image – Series 6 - £14.99 RRP – Broadcast on ITV in 1988, the sixth series of this political satire comes to DVD with no extras.

Watching – Series 4 - £19.99 RRP – All six episodes from the fourth series along with the 1988 Christmas Special are included on this release.

The Bill – Series 4 Volume 3 - £19.99 RRP – Restructured into a half-hour format in 1988, this release contains 13 consecutive episodes of the half-hour series.

18th May 2009

How To Be - £14.99 RRP – This offbeat post teen-life crisis comedy starring Twilight’s Robert Pattinson comes to DVD with the following features:

  • Extended Scenes (26 mins.)
  • How to Make “How To Be” featurette (20 mins.)
  • Audio commentary with director Oliver Irving, Mike Pearce (Nikki), Johnny White (Ronny) and Joe Hastings (composer)

The Main Chance – Series 1 - £19.99 RRP – This law drama from Yorkshire Television ran for four series between 1969 and 1975. The first series comes to DVD with no extras.

Adventurer – The Complete Series - £19.99 RRP – This sequel to The Smuggler comes to DVD with all 12 episodes complete and uncut.

25th May 2009

Yus, My Dear Series 1 - £12.99 RRP – The first series of this spin-off of Romany Jones.

Moonlight Sonata - £12.99 RRP – Thirties musical drama featuring the renowned concert pianist Jan Ignace Paderweski.

The Fear – The Complete Series - £19.99 RRP – Iain Glen stars in this ITV gangster drama with all five episodes contained in this two-disc set complete and uncut. Extras include:
  • Exclusive half hour featurette on the making of THE FEAR
  • Audio commentary with Iain Glen, director Stuart Orme and producer Jacky Tully

Sez Les Volume 2 - £24.99 RRP – Les Dawson stars in this variety show with volume 3 consisting of the complete fifth and sixth series (featuring guests Sandie Shaw, Roy Orbison, Roy Barraclough, Brian Glover and more).

Oh No, It’s Selwyn Froggit - Series 1 - £12.99 RRP - Bill Maynard stars in this ITV sitcom. This release combines the pilot episode, screened in 1974 as part of a run of single plays, and the complete first series broadcast in 1976.

Evergreen - £12.99 RRP - Jessie Matthews stars in this thirties British musical.

There Goes The Bride - £9.99 RRP - Jessie Matthews stars in this Gainsborough comedy.

Carrington VC - £12.99 RRP - David Niven and Margaret Leighton star in this film based on Anthony Asquith’s smash hit West End play.

We need your help

Running a website like The Digital Fix - especially one with over 20 years of content and an active community - costs lots of money and we need your help. As advertising income for independent sites continues to contract we are looking at other ways of supporting the site hosting and paying for content.

You can help us by using the links on The Digital Fix to buy your films, games and music and we ask that you try to avoid blocking our ads if you can. You can also help directly for just a few pennies per day via our Patreon - and you can even pay to have ads removed from the site entirely.

Click here to find out more about our Patreon and how you can help us.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News

Latest Articles