MVM in June

MVM have sent through details on their UK Region 2 Anime DVD line-up for June 2005. Unless stated otherwise all titles are set to retail at £19.99 and street on 13th June...

Blue Gender- The Movie - A movie adaptation of the original 26-episode "Blue Gender" TV series, BLUE GENDER MOVIE: THE WARRIOR introduces newcomers to the "Blue Gender" universe with an ideal taster of this epic sci-fi adventure while providing already converted devotees with a perfect summary of this much-loved animated series. Features include English 5.1 and Japanese 2.0 audio, optional English subtitles, scene selection and trailers.

Tsukihime Lunar Legend: Volume 1 - Life Threads - Based on the popular Japanese video games, manga comic book and TV series, TSUKIHIME LUNAR LEGEND is a dark, gothic tale of vengeance and retribution. Featuring animation by J.C. Staff (R.O.D. The TV Series), the story concerns a young boy, Shiki Tono, who is forced to form an unholy alliance with a vampire princess, Arcueid Brunested, in a fight against the evil forces threatening to take over the city.

Volume 1 of 3 includes the first four episodes of the 12-episodes series presented in anamorphic widescreen with English and Japanese 2.0 audio, English subtitles, non-credit opening, trailers and DVD credits.

Texhnolyze: Volume 1 - Inhumane and Beautiful - From internationally acclaimed artist Yoshitoshi ABe (Haibane Renmei) and the creators and producers of Serial Experiments Lain, Haibane Renmei and Hellsing comes a new hard-boiled style of science-fiction animation. TEXHNOLYZE is a brilliantly envisioned, epic adventure set in a dark dystopian world that reveals the depths of human nature and the heights of technological achievement.

Volume 1 includes the first four groundbreaking episodes of the 22-episode series that is sexy, violent, rich in style and thick with mystery. Features include anamorphic widescreen presentation, interview with Yoshitoshi ABe and Yasuyuki Ueda, alternate dialogue outtakes, trailers, DVD credits, English 2.0 and Japanese 2.0 audio, optional English subtitles.

Related reviews: Vol.1 (R1)

Gungrave: Volume 2 - The Sweeper - Based on the hit video game that famously boasted design work by the legendary Yasuhiro Nightow (creator of "Trigun"), GUNGRAVE is a violent gothic fantasy that puts paid to the idea that an anime series based on a video game will always fall short of expectations. Volume 2 includes episodes 5 to 8 of the acclaimed 26-episode anime with features including anamorphic widescreen presentation, production art gallery, video game promo (Japanese), trailers, DVD credits, English Dolby Digital 5.1, Japanese DTS, Japanese 2.0, English subtitles.

Related reviews: Vol.1

Haibane Renmei: Volume 2 - Wings of Sorrow - Created by Yoshitoshi ABe (character designer of Serial Experiments Lain) and produced by Studio RADIX, HAIBANE RENMEI is an imaginative and beautifully animated 13-episode anime series that is bound to appeal to fans of the work of Hayao Miyazaki (Spirited Away; Princess Mononoke). Volume 2 features episodes 5 to 7 with features including creditless opening, TV commercials, art gallery, episode previews, trailers, English 2.0, Japanese 2.0, optional English subtitles.

Related reviews: Vol.1

Yu Yu Hakusho: Ghost Files - Volume 3: A New Apprentice - The story of Yusuke Urameshi, a 14-year-old Spiritual Detective, continues with four complete episodes (9 to 12) on DVD presented with English language 2.0 stereo and Japanese language 2.0 stereo with English subtitles, character profiles, textless opening, textless closing, name translations and trailers. Retail is £14.99.

Category News

Latest Articles