Primary Image

Humphrey Jennings Vol.1 (BFI) in September

The BFI have announced the UK Dual Format Edition release of The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days on 19th September 2011. More from the press release:

For the first time ever, the BFI is collecting together all of Humphrey Jennings’ remarkable films, including his wartime masterpieces Listen to Britain, Fires Were Started and A Diary for Timothy, newly remastering them to High Definition and releasing them across three volumes. Each volume will be a Dual Format Edition (containing all films on both Blu-ray and DVD) and will include essential special features, including alternative versions and collaborative works.

Humphrey Jennings (1907-1950), widely considered to be one of Britain’s greatest documentary filmmakers, is best known for films which beautifully evoke everyday heroism in times of war and peace. Combining poetic observation and humanism with a subtle yet intense national feeling that is also very personal, Jennings was a visionary and progressive patriot.

The First Days gathers 14 short films from the period 1934-1940 and provides a fascinating insight into Jennings’ earliest days as a filmmaker, learning and developing his craft. It features the critically acclaimed Spare Time (1939), a memorable portrait of the inter-war working class made for the New York World Fair in 1939, and the rousing London Can Take It! (1940), accompanied by its alternative cut Britain Can Take It! This, the most renowned cinematic representation of the resilient heroism of ordinary Londoners during the early days of the Blitz, features iconic images of St Paul’s Cathedral, the Palace of Westminster and the royal family. There are also previously neglected works, many of which will be available for the first time since their original release.

List of shorts:

  • Post Haste (1934)
  • Locomotives (1934)
  • The Story of the Wheel (1934)
  • Farewell Topsails (1937)
  • Penny Journey (1938)
  • Speaking from America (1938)
  • The Farm (1938)
  • Making Fashion (1938)
  • Spare Time (1939)
  • SS Ionian (1939)
  • The First Days (1939)
  • Spring Offensive (1940)
  • Welfare of the Workers (1940)
  • London Can Take It! (1940)

Features include:
  • Region 0
  • Disc 1: BD50 / 1080p / 24fps PCM mono 2.0 audio (48k/24-bit)
  • Disc 2: DVD9 / PAL / Dolby Digital mono 2.0 audio (320kbps)
  • Optional English HOH subtitles
  • Presented in High Definition and Standard Definition
  • The Birth of the Robot (1936): a Len Lye film for Shell on which Jennings collaborated
  • English Harvest (1939): alternative cut of The Farm
  • Cargoes (1940): an alternative cut of SS Ionian
  • Britain Can Take It! (1940): an alternative cut of London Can Take It!
  • 40-page illustrated booklet with newly commissioned essays and credits

RRP is £19.99.


We need your help

Running a website like The Digital Fix - especially one with over 20 years of content and an active community - costs lots of money and we need your help. As advertising income for independent sites continues to contract we are looking at other ways of supporting the site hosting and paying for content.

You can help us by using the links on The Digital Fix to buy your films, games and music and we ask that you try to avoid blocking our ads if you can. You can also help directly for just a few pennies per day via our Patreon - and you can even pay to have ads removed from the site entirely.

Click here to find out more about our Patreon and how you can help us.

Did you enjoy the article above? If so please help us by sharing it to your social networks with the buttons below...

Category News

Latest Articles