Primary Image

Eragon (R1) in March

Fox Home Entertainment have announced the Region 1 DVD release of Eragon for 20th March 2007. As darkness falls in the magical land of Alagaësia, the last dragon will choose its rider… and the final battle between good and evil will begin. This fantasy adventure-epic is based on the first chapter of the epic Inheritance Trilogy by author Christopher Paolini.

Eragon will be released as both a Widescreen Two-Disc Special Edition ($34.98 SRP) and in separate Widescreen and Full Screen Single-Disc DVD versions ($29.98 SRP each).

The Eragon single disc DVD is presented in separate widescreen and full screen versions with English 5.1 Dolby Surround, Spanish and French Dolby Surround with English and Spanish subtitles, plus an audio commentary by director Stefen Fangmeier.

An extension of the mythology that made the Eragon books so popular with fans, the Eragon Special Edition DVD is designed so viewers can explore the magical world of Alagaësia through an interactive map showcasing each of its fascinating mythical landscapes:

Disc One: Main Feature

  • Audio commentary by director Stefen Fangmeier

Disc Two: Extra Features

  • Inside the Inheritance Trilogy: The Magic of Eragon featurette
    • Prologue: The Storyteller’s Scroll (focusing on turning the novel into a screenplay)
    • Chapter One: Realizing Alagaesia (focusing on storyboards, location, scouting and character design)
    • Chapter Two: The Destined Roles (casting the actors)
    • Chapter Three: From Carvahall to Farthen Dur (behind-the-scenes footage during film production)
    • Chapter Four: Hatching the Dragon (from storyboards and concept art to the CGI process of creating the dragons)
    • Chapter Five: Just the Beginning (post mortem look at the what’s next in the series)
  • Random House Digital Novel featuring the first two chapters of Eldest the second novel from the Inheritance Trilogy by Christopher Paolini

  • The Inhabitants of Alagaësia character profiles – with director Stefen Fangmeier as your guide, journey through the process of bringing the characters from the world of Alagaësia to life:
    • The Dragon Riders
    • Durza
    • Saphira
    • The Urgals
    • Arya
    • The Ra’zac

  • Seven extended / deleted scenes (with optional commentary by director Stefen Fangmeier)

  • Eldest – Christopher Paolini Interview - exclusive interview with the author talking about the second novel and some hints about what will happen in the third and final story

  • The Secrets of Alagaësia – visual effects showcase for 19 separate film sequences with commentary by visual effects supervisors Michael McAlister and John Van Vliet:
    • Dragon Battle
    • Fire in the Forest
    • Baby Dragon
    • Summoning the Ra’zac
    • Unahppy Landing
    • Durza Disappears
    • Over the Edge
    • Happy Flight
    • Ra’zac Attack
    • Durza’s Prisoner
    • Gil’ead Approach
    • Getaway at Gil’ead
    • Brom’s Grave
    • A Grand Entrance
    • Durza’s Army
    • Breath of Fire
    • Battle in the Sky
    • A Fallen Saphira
    • The Land of Alagaesia

The Spine
  • The Vision of Eragon
    • Arya’s Ambush – Original Animatic Sequence (with optional commentary by director Stefen Fangmeier)
    • Conceptual Artwork Gallery

Hadarac Desert
  • Saphira’s Animation Guide (with commentary by director Stefen Fangmeier)

  • Pronunciation Guide
  • Original Storyboards
    • Saphira Hatches
    • Raising the Ra’zac
    • A Hard Journey
    • Durza’s Scouts
    • Brom’s Tale
    • Battle in the Sky
  • The Lost Storyboards - from four sequences not included in the final film
    • Hearing Voices
    • Smashing the Hut
    • Name Your Dragon
    • Catch the Bird

Beor Mountains
  • Become the Dragon Rider – Creating the Video Game
  • Trailers

Category News

Latest Articles