Primary Image

Chocky Collection in October

Second Sight have announced the UK DVD release of Chocky: The Complete Collection for 17th October 2005 priced at £24.99. Chocky: The Complete Collection features the full set of the 80’s classic sci-fi series, Chocky, Chocky’s Children and Chocky’s Challenge, for the first time in its entirety.

This remarkable adventure was based on the book written by John Wyndham, the author of Day of the Triffids, The Kraken Wakes and The Midwich Cuckoos (later adapted for the big screen as The Village of the Damned).

The first series tells the story of young Matthew Gore, an intelligent lad who is chosen by a mysterious extra-terrestrial visitor, Chocky, as a source of information about life on earth. As Matthew’s schoolwork and artistic talent improve dramatically, his parents become concerned about the strange changes in his behaviour and refer him to a child psychiatrist. But his dubious social connections lead to Matthew's subsequent kidnap, as a ruthless businessman tries to tap into the amazing extra-terrestrial knowledge that Chocky has imparted to him.

Chocky’s Children
A year after first encountering Chocky, Matthew travels to the country to stay with his aunt while his parents are abroad. There he meets Albertine Meyer, a mathematical genius who lives with her strict father. The pair soon discover that they are able to communicate telepathically, but they do not realise that sinister forces are watching them closely.

Chocky’s Challenge
In the third and final series Matthew’s and Albertine’s friendship with Chocky once again comes under scrutiny, this time from the military and other powerful groups who want to harness the alien's powerful knowledge.

Extras include an interview with the screenwriter Anthony Read.

Category News

Latest Articles