Chicago II and Kamakiriad on DVD-Audio this July

Warner Music Vision have announced the UK DVD-Audio release of Chicago II and Donald Fagen's Kamikiriad for 28th July 2003. The details on each of these are as follows...

Chicago II - First up we have the DVD-Audio feature list for you, then we have the PR explaining a little more about the album and the work that has gone into the remix.

  • DVD-Audio Players:
    • Advanced Resolution Multi-Channel Surround Sound (96 kHz/24-bit)
    • Advanced Resolution Stereo (96 kHz / 24 - bit)
  • DVD-Video Players:
    • Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
  • All DVD Players:
    • Photo Gallery
After 33 years since this seminal, rock classic was originally released in 1970, the album is finally available released on DVD-Audio and given a luscious 5.1 Surround Sound mix. This timeless album, which played a big part in everyone's life in the early '70s, has never sounded better, and is produced under the supervision of Lee Loughnane (Chicago's founding trumpet player and backing vocalist).

After the success of the band's 1969 debut album Chicago Transit Authority, during January 1970, Chicago II established the band as an undisputed, mega-successful rock act. Chicago II was a runaway hit and made the Top 5 of Billboard's album chart on the strength of two smash hits from the suite Ballet For A Girl In Buchannon, including Make Me Smile and Colour My World. The album also featured a third Top 100 hit single, 25 Or 6 To 4.

This milestone album is presented in 2 new Advanced Resolution versions: a 5.1 Surround 96/24k and a 192k stereo version for DVD-Audio compatible players. A Dolby Digital Surround track is included for playback on any DVD-Video player.

The crystal clear Dolby Digital 5.1 mix is masterfully produced by John Kellog and Paul Klingberg (the same production and engineering team who were responsible for the DVD-Audio 5.1 mixes for Deep Purple's Machine Head, Emerson, Lake & Palmer's Brain Salad Surgery, and Foreigner's eponymous album, and Foreigner 4).

Back in 1970, the original stereo mix of the album never really took the album to its full potential. Now, with the advent of digital mixing technology, Chicago II's sparkling 5.1 Surround & stereo mixes are a revelation to the ear. Now, with DVD-Audio technology, it is finally possible to remix classic albums in Surround Sound and make them sound new all over again.

The timely DVD-Audio release of Chicago II includes an exclusive Photo Gallery featuring many previously unpublished photographs. The album plays on all DVD-A and DVD-Video players

Turn your speakers up. Chicago's back, and this time they're in Surround Sound.

Kamikiriad - Again we have the DVD-Audio feature list for you and then the PR.
  • DVD-Audio Players:
    • Advanced Resolution Multi-Channel Surround Sound (96 khz/24-bit)
    • Advanced Resolution Stereo (96 kHz / 24 - bit)
  • DVD-Video Players:
    • Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
    • DTS 5.1 Surround Sound
  • All DVD Players:
    • Lyrics
    • 'Behind The Scenes' Documentary (NTSC 4:3)
    • 'Snowbound' & 'Tomorrow's Girls' Videos (NTSC 4:3)
    • Photo Gallery
  • PC & DVD Drive:
    • Web Link
Warner Music Vision is pleased to announce the U.K. 28th July 2003 release of Kamakiriad, the second Donald Fagen solo album to be released on the DVD-Audio 5.1 Surround Sound format during 2003. Fagen's second solo album was originally released in 1993, eleven years after The Nightfly. Kamakiriad brings cocktail-mellow future grooves to the adventures of a man and his futuristic car, the Kamakiri. Bonus features include a photo gallery, song lyrics, an exclusive behind-the-scenes documentary on the making of the album, plus videos for Snowbound and Tomorrow's Girls.

The album is encoded in DTS 5.1 Surround Sound, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound, Advanced Resolution Multi-Channel Surround Sound (96 kHz/24-bit), and Advanced Resolution Stereo (96 kHz/24-bit). The seminal DVD-Audio release has been meticulously mixed from the original multi-track master tapes to create the best, most dynamic sound possible. Complete with stereo and surround sound mixes (both standard and audiophile advanced resolution quality), along with bonus video, text, and still imagery content, this disc is playable in any DVD player.

Interactive menus will guide you through the songs and, when available, additional audio or visual content, though it is not necessary to view the menus on the screen in order to enjoy the music, as the disc can function just like a standard CD if dropped into the player. DVD-Audio albums can be played on all DVD players but will not play on CD players.

Originally produced by Steely Dan's co-founding member, Walter Becker, Donald Fagen's Kamakiriad is a brilliantly executed futuristic retro concept album which spins a unique Sci-Fi outlook on the world. The eight-song cycle re-creates a retro-futuristic world in which Fagen's '50s nostalgia meets high-tech millennialism. If you loved the studio-intensive blues-rock, tantalizing, crisp white funk grooves that made Steely Dan, and Fagen's Nightfly solo album so compelling, Kamakiriad will keep your pulse racing.

As one-half of the legendary duo Steely Dan, who were inducted into the Rock'n'Roll Hall of Fame in 2001, Donald Fagen has written some of the most evocative and influential music in popular music. Together with partner Walter Becker, he wrote and recorded such platinum-plus albums as Aja and Gaucho and set a standard for state-of the-art studio production.

Kamakiriad impressed music critics worldwide, and went on to be nominated for a Grammy Award in 1994 for Album of the Year. This was a fascinating concept album that took listeners on a journey into a brave new musical world; a few years in the future, near the millennium. In the opening track, Trans-Island Skyway, the narrator tells us he is about to embark on a journey in his new dream-car, a custom-tooled Kamakiri. It's built for the new century: steam-driven, with a self-contained vegetable garden and a radio link with the Tripster routing satellite. The next six songs describe his adventures along the way. In the closing track, Teahouse on the Tracks, the narrator lands in a dismal Flytown where he must decide whether to bail out or to rally and continue moving into the unknown.

Category News

Latest Articles